love and basketball
written: 5:29 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2002

Latest Slam Dunk episode I've seen: King Kong's Brother

You know, the episode after Akagi sprained his ankle and Sakuragi's pledged to fill his shoes? Yeah.

Man, I was so amazed at the amount of words Rukawa said and thought. I mean, I'm used to him saying one-liners and everything, going, "do'ahou" in that soft, silky voice of his. Yesterday's episode had his thoughts. It had him almost yelling. And it had him showing an expression on his poker face. The closest he's ever gotten to having an expression on his face is the occasional widening of eyes when, say, Sakuragi gets the ball (which seems to shock everybody), or when the opponent scores. Yesterday's episode had him looking shocked. So amazing. And he almost yelled for the ball. And he almost went frantic in his thoughts. The only person who goes, "Pass pass pass pass PASS!" all the time is Sakuragi in his crow-ish voice, because everyone's afraid of passing to him because he sucks at shooting. I'm not used to hearing Rukawa's voice so much. Although it's nice, it's weird.

And the steal he made, that was FANTASTIC. Kiyota (cocky Kainan rookie who challenges Rukawa for title as 'super rookie' in current match) passed the ball to Maki (tall, dark and handsome Kainan captain) and Rukawa stretched out an arm and just like that, he stole the ball. That was so cool.

And Micchy looked sooooo good. It's too bad it's not his turn to shine. I still love that episode with my name in the title very much. The way he crouched and glared at that idiot Shoyo number six, almost like a caged wild animal on the verge of breaking free...sigh. So amazingly sexy...

[start of Yelen's fantasy]

MITSUI steals the ball from SOME LOUSY DEFENDER. He dribbles to the THREE-POINT LINE. He AIMS. He SHOOTS. His arms form a GRACEFUL ARC over his head. The ball sails towards the NET. It ENTERS. SCORE.

Mitsui: Yosh!

Yelen: AHHHH! HISASHI-KUN!!!!! I LOVE YOU!!!!

Mitsui: Yelen, my love, that three-pointer was for you!

Yelen: AHHH!!! HISASHI-KUN, I ALWAYS KNEW YOU COULD DO IT!!!

Mitsui (forgetting about the match and racing up the bleachers to where YELEN is): It's because you're so supportive of me, Yelen my love!

MITSUI sweeps YELEN into his ARMS. He gives her a HEART-STOPPING KISS, in front of everybody.

Mitsui (looking solemnly into YELEN'S eyes): Wait for me, my love. I will be back after the match. I will excel for you. I promise you.

Yelen (staring back into MITSUI'S eyes): I have no doubt you would, my dear Hisashi-kun. Win the match for me!

MITSUI gives YELEN another amazingly swoon-worthy KISS. And, dramatically, he SPEEDS back to court.

Yelen (with heart-shaped eyes): My Hisashi-kun...so dashing...so courageous...oh!

Mitsui (thinking): My lovely Yelen, so sweet, so caring. I will win the match for her!

***

(After five years, at a classy restaurant)

MITSUI and YELEN are having dinner. They have been dating for the past five years. The relationship is VERY SERIOUS.

Then, all of a sudden...

Mitsui (clearing his throat): My fair Yelen, I have been waiting to ask you something...

Yelen (holding her breath in anticipation): Yes, my charming, dashing Hisashi-kun?

Mitsui (groping around his pocket and taking out something): My love, I have been waiting to ask you this...

To YELEN'S surprise, MITSUI gets down on his KNEES in front of EVERYBODY. He opens the small box in his hands, and reveals a GLITTERING, TWENTY CARATS DIAMOND RING.

Mitsui (solemnly, looking deeply into YELEN'S eyes): Love of my life, light of my hell, my everything, my only true love, will you marry me?

Yelen (gasping): Oh yes, my sweet, sexy Hisashi-kun! Yes yes yes!

Yelen (thinking to herself): AHH!! THIS MEANS WE GET TO HAVE SEX!!!!! AHHH!!!!! HISASHI-KUN, I LOVE YOU!! AI SHITERU!!!!!!!!!!!

[end of Yelen's fantasy]

I can't possibly engage in pre-marital sex, now can I?

This is what happens when somebody like me gets too bored with too much time to waste.

Otherwise, I'm still pretty sane.

PS. 'Yosh' (sp) means 'all right!' or something to that effect. 'Ai shiteru' means, obviously, 'I love you'. I don't know how to explain the Hisashi-kun thing.

PPS. I absolutely LOVE IT whenever Mitsui goes, "Yosh!" whenever he makes a successful three-pointer, which is nearly always, as he's soooo talented and soooo perfect. Sigh.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010