why you should never go to a single-sex school
written: 6:16 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 20, 2002

There is this small book fair thing in my school. I went pass it yesterday after recess while walking back to class. There is this guy who helps run the thing with like, his mother or something, and I noticed him yesterday, and so did Yunnie, and she pointed out, "He reminds me of Gen." I looked closer, and yes, she's right, he does look like Genie, from the side at least.

My friends Pearl and The Athlete had a late recess, and when they returned back to class, they told me they saw a some ang moh in the canteen with his mother. I said, "Yeah, I saw him too, he wears grey underwear."

They gave me a weird look, like I'm some freak who goes around looking at people's underwear, but we all know I'm really not. So I explained, "He stretched what, and I saw his underwear, like that's my fault."

And it was the truth. But did they wipe that weird look off their faces? Noooooo. Nevertheless, The Athlete went on to say he's ugly, and Pearl was like, "He's not bad-looking lah, and hey Yelen, he looks like Gen leh."

Me: "I know, I saw him too, did I not?"

The Athlete: "Are you sure it's the same guy? He's ang moh!"

Me: "Uh-huh..."

The Athlete/Pearl: "Was he wearing a cap?"

Me: "Um, no."

The Athlete and Pearl: "Wah lau, wrong person lah!"

***

Today. Went by the fair thingy to get to the canteen. I was with Pearl, The Athlete, The Quiet One and Mrs. Jerry Yen (yunnie was absent as she is sick, the poor girl, but got to miss fucking Geography mock exam). Pearl announced, "The Athlete, Yelen saw the same guy yesterday!"

Mrs. Jerry Yen: What guy?

Somebody: The guy at the book fair thing.

We approached the place. The guy was behind the makeshift cash register. He wore a cap, but we all knew it was him anyway. So we walked past and tried not to make our ogling too obvious. Mrs. Jerry Yen heard that he looks like my boyfriend, and after she's had hers, she commented, "Yelen's taste not bad ay!"

Well, obviously. I've always had good taste. Just look at Joaquin Phoenix. He is the perfect specimen of true beauty.

Anyway. We giggled all the way to the canteen like some stupid primary school girls, and continued talking about the guy throughout recess. My friends were all, "Yelen is so interested in him! Go get his number leh!"

And I replied, "Um, what the hell? Do I even care?"

Perhaps my question was answered when we were done with eating, and Pearl stood up and said, "Let's go see the books!"

I stood up too and said, "Okay!", a little too enthusiastically, for The Athlete pointed at me and laughed, like, look at her, so excited.

My friends are morons, I tell you. While we were eating Mrs. Jerry Yen said that oh, she wanted to buy a book just so she could look at the guy's face, because we couldn't see it due to the baseball cap and everything. And I chimed in with, "Yeah, me too, I want to see his face."

The Athlete heard, and went on this long shit about how I would buy a book, go pay for it and accidentally brush my hand against his or some shit like that. Before I initiated contact with Gen, she also gave me the same "advice": Go to the restaurant and eat, and sit down, ask for water, accidentally spill it on Gen, apologise, accidentally brush my hand against his...

CRAP! She is such a moron! But we did go to see the books, which were mainly for kids, unfortunately, for I had nothing to buy and really wanted to buy something (I seriously do not have any ulterior motive). The guy was sitting on the row of chairs placed next to the railing that overlooks the fish pond (yep, my school has a fish pond, my school has many fish ponds). Somebody saw, pointed, and we all looked.

The Athlete: Yelen, he's talking to his girlfriend!

Me: Yay. Do I care?

The Athlete (laughing): Go over and sit down, he's waiting for you to sit down!

Me: What the hell?!?!

The Athlete: He wants you to ask for his number!

I did not bother to answer.

And guess what? We stayed there for a minimum of ten minutes. I could not believe it. My friends, who do not read, were looking at books! Like, wow!

Seriously, it was boring. There wasn't a good book in sight, and the guy was off somewhere talking on his handphone, and he was still wearing the bloody cap. After standing around for a bit Pearl and I went off to the other row, as there were three rows of um, books, yeah, and we went to the first one, which is directly in front of the row of chairs that the guy was sitting at.

It was not deliberate on my part. I can't speak for Pearl, but I wouldn't be surprised if it was on purpose. We discovered a box of cool organisers and began looking through them, and all of a sudden the rest of our friends started crowding around us. Pearl said something stupid to me and I laughed loudly. The Athlete showed me a book called "Poems That Don't Rhyme", and she asked, "Why are we all here arh?"

I said, "I don't know, ask Pearl!"

In the end we decided to go back to class. While walking back Mrs. Jerry Yen turned back to look (at what, I truly wonder), and she said in her usual comical way, "Wah lau, the guy was posing there for you all to see leh!"

She said that because he stood up and went back to the cash register after we left. Then Pearl started teasing everybody about wanting to look at the gorgeous ang moh person, including The Athlete, who apparently turned back to look too and her first comment about him was that "he is ugly".

Strangely, I got teased the most. I don't even know why. It wasn't like I was so interested in looking anyway. I just wanted to see if the guy looked like Genie from the front too.

My friends are morons, did I ever mention that? This is why one should never go to a single-sex school: as soon as some good-looking guy is in the area, one would go crazy. Look at my friends. They were looking at books. They hardly ever read, for goodness sake!

I didn't even know the guy was ang moh until Pearl and The Athlete told me yesterday. Yunnie and I thought he looked kind of Japanese.

He wears these cool silver hoop earrings that are really nice. And the grey underwear. Haha.

Wonder if he'd be there tomorrow...

Yeah well, had the Geography mock exam and our answers weren't even collected. Apparently we'd be marking it ourselves. I wrote about 4 lines for a 13-mark question because I couldn't be arsed to write rubbish that I would eventually make up. And besides, it wasn't as if I knew how to answer the question, nevermind that it came out before for a test and the teacher had given us the answer already.

But who gives a shit. Not me.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010