a sinking feeling
written: 7:59 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 21, 2002

That last entry was just pointless. I fear I'm beginning to lose interest in this...or maybe it's just the lack of time. I don't know. I don't care. I don't want to think.

What Grace said about the rape of Nanking (?) today just really shocked me. I've seen the book, but never read it. Heard about what happened, but never in details. Grace gave us the details, and I just sat there, listening to her, feeling like I was going to start crying. It was so, so, so horrible. They had men in white coats inventing ways to torture people. I can't even believe that, you know? How could people, normal people, sit around in a circle and go, "Oh, I've thought up a new way to torture our prisoners to near-death! Do you want to hear it?" It's such an inconceivable thought, and yet it's true. The last time I cried while watching TV, be it a TV programme or a movie, was when I watched the Holocaust episode of "7th Heaven". A survivor of the Holocaust was invited to the show and to recount what happened. I remember I just sat ther and cried and cried and cried. My parents thought I was insane. I was about...12? 13? 14? Around there. It shook me up.

I don't think I'm going to read "The Rape of Nanking". If I know what's good for myself, I wouldn't pick it up. But the seed of curiosity has been planted, and as Oscar Wilde said, the hardest thing to resist is temptation.

In all forms, of course.

Anyway...

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010