we live on streets
written: 6:17 p.m. on Sunday, Jan. 27, 2002

Went to a hawker centre near Chinatown for lunch. Was sitting at my table with my brother, waiting for my food, when this man who looked homeless came over and put 4 packets of tissue paper on the table. He said in Mandarin, "Miss, one dollar." I had 3 two-dollar notes with me, so I gave it to him. He was like, one dollar! I wanted to tell him to keep the change, but I didn't know how to say it, so in the end he gave me back a dollar. He went around the place, asking people to buy the packets, but from what I observed, I was the only one who bought them.

I really...I really can't believe how indifferent people can be. It's just a dollar. They can't even spare that. Them, who live in condominiums or bungalows or whatever and drive Mercedes Benzes (whatever), they can't even afford to part with one measley (sp) dollar! I just...I don't know. I was so disgusted.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010