poem: want, not need
written: 10:12 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 07, 2005

Want, Not Need

you
are a certainty
i feel in my blood

if only
i could convince you
it�s more than mere lust

but then
of course
you would see right through me

you know
well, very well
what i want, what i�m here for.

you
are the truth
i�ve been trying to cast out

to the ocean, letting
the tidal wave
take you away

from the obsessive
prison of where
i�ll reside for eternity

up here
in the ivory tower
of my mind

nice to look at
too high to reach but
you�ve penetrated

without even trying
or wanting to do so and
just a look

is enough
to get you here
where others have tried but failed.

but a cavity
remains, where
my heart should be

keeping you
always at a distance
always a certain, measured distance

so far
away
from me.

January 7, 2005

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010