and the winner is
written: 1:09 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 21, 2002

Stayed home from school today. My mom came in to wake me up at 6 a.m., but because I slept at 12.30 a.m. this morning due to my incompetence at writing, I didn't open my eyes. My mom was feeling my forehead, and finally she asked, "Do you want to go to school?" (In Mandarin.) I waited a while before shaking my head. And that was that.

I AM SO HAPPY TO STAY HOME! I watched the Golden Globes on Channel 18. I was quite mad a while ago that The Lord of the Rings didn't win any of the awards it got nominated for, but hey, too bad. Am glad "Band of Brothers" nabbed Best Miniseries...despite Tom Hanks, who directed only one episode, which also happened to be the worst out of all ten. A true shame, because that episode was mainly about Captain Dick Winters (Damian Lewis, mmmmmmmmm), who's my favourite character. I hope Mr. Hanks never picks up directing for the big screen.

My mom doesn't like me writing all the time. I told her a few days back that I wrote a couple of poems during Chemistry (Electrolysis and Eyes Wide Shut), and she was off about how I should write less, because my "English is good enough", and that I should "concentrate" on my "weaker subjects", blah blah blah. I don't think she, or anyone I know really, gets it. I don't write to practice. I could care less about practicing, really. I write because I need to do it. I don't care how pretentious I must be sounding, but it's the truth. When I'm upset, give me a pen and a paper, and I'll be happy. When I'm bored, stick me in front of MS Word, and I'll be happy. It's not about practice...it's a lot more than that.

I don't know if you (whoever you are) understand this...I can't explain it. Writing has almost become my salvation, and maybe it is, I don't know. But I do know one thing: I write because I need to. Not because I want to.

And I just want people to get that.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010