monsters and goblins
written: 3:48 p.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 07, 2002

I am a dumb ass. I am a total dumb ass. Had a slight fever last night and I went to bed at 9 a.m. Let my parents know about it, and I made sure they knew about it, so this morning the mom came in and started feeling my forehead, asking, "Do you want to go to school?" I was sleeping and too damn lazy to answer. In the end she left me alone and switched off the light and switched on the air-con.

Sounds good, no? It gets better. Conscience started pricking me in the arse, and I could not go back to asleep peacefully as my mind was whirling a hundred miles a minute. I thought, "Chemistry test. How can miss Chemistry test?" I also thought, "What if they give back Chinese result? I want to be the first to know."

So I rolled out of bed and went to school. Did not release the fucking result. Could not do Chemistry test. Not too surprising there, as I did not even touch my book last night. I did not bother to bring it to school this morning to study. Had 2 free periods in the morning because the Chinese teacher had her wedding thing. I spent the time doing my group's Literature assignment while the class studied Chemistry. Honestly, I find poetry so much more appealing than pretending to give a shit about fucking alkanes and endothermic reactions or whatever. Oh yeah, I failed yesterday's Maths test on permutations and the like. Goddd it's aggravating. It totally broke my passing streak. It just sucks. But I expected that so it wasn't like a big disappointment or anything.

My school is haunted. I am positive of it. I was at the toilet last Friday morning at about 6.45 a.m. It was completely deserted, and I was all alone. I went into the cubicle to take a piss, and that was when I heard the first sound. It was of someone pulling up her skirt to pee, the sound of cloth ruffling against cloth. I think I stopped breathing for a second. I could have died then and there, but I decided to pee quickly, tie up my hair and get the hell out of there as soon as possible. Not long after this decision I heard another sound, the unmistakable sound of somebody pushing down on the tap.

But nobody had entered the toilet after me. I was alone, it was dawn, and all was quiet. If someone had came in, I would've known because I would've heard their footsteps. All I heard were the skirt and the tap.

I flushed, and got out of the cubicle and tied up my hair. As I did that, I kept hearing the tap, as if put on repeat, and it seemed to be coming from my left. I whirled around to check if anyone was there.

But I was all alone. All the doors of the cubicles were wide open. Nobody else could've been in there and escape my beady eyes.

Unless, of course, whoever was there wasn't human.

I know it sounds totally exaggerated, but you had to be there. It was scary. Recounting it just sent a good twenty chills in and out of my poor body. People have been telling ghost stories about my school for as long as I can remember, which is like ten years, and I finally experienced something out of the ordinary in the school that was rumoured to be constructed above a cemetery. If it weren't scary, it would be pretty cool.

Counting down to graduation...3 months and a few weeks. I have a lot less than that to prepare for the O. Oh no.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010