i am a book geek
written: 11:49 a.m. on Sunday, Dec. 08, 2002

I think I ought to finish reading the books I've bought over the years this month instead of going to the library and pissing myself off because I can't find any decent books to read despite walking around the place for about an hour or so.

Books I've bought over the years that I haven't read or that I've read halfway:

Broke Heart Blues and Man Crazy by Joyce Carol Oates
Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt
Yeats Is Dead! by 16 (I think) Irish writers
Timeline by Michael Critchon (sp)
The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey E. (I've read most of it and am left with the last twenty pages or so; I must've forgotten about it)
East of Eden by John Steinbeck
The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
Eating Naked by Stephen Dobyns
Inventing the Abbotts and Other Stories by Sue Miller (although I did buy it just to read the story on which the film Inventing the Abbotts was based, and I've read it)
Dracula by Bram Stoker
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Word by Coerte Felske
Anne Frank's diary
God knows how many books I've forgotten

I love buying books. It makes my book shelf look full, which in turn makes me look intellectual. I just am so lazy to read any of them.

East of Eden is like, THIS thick. And the part which Elia Kazan adapted into his film of the same name starring James Dean was only the last few chapters or so. But I'll read the whole novel anyway, because it's John Steinbeck and because it's time I go back to the classics and learn. I mean I gotta go forward, and the only way of going forward is to go back.

Does that make sense? Well it does to me anyway.

I want to go to Bay Beats but since I forgot about it, it's kind of last minute-ish and I don't know my Angel's phone number so I can't ask her, but I'd be going to the Esplanade to return the DVDs I borrowed so maybe I'll hang around for a bit. But my bloody Mom would surely ask me to go home and her being there would annoy me so I wouldn't have the mood to stay anymore and so I'd go home without seeing anything. Ahhhh life sucks.

(Bay Beats is this cool live concert thing. Ask Cain.)

*****

13:11: Yesterday the LA Lakers won the Dallas Mavericks by two points. The stupid Mavericks gave up a thirty-point lead in the last quarter and thus secured their second defeat of the season. I mean at one point of the time the score was Dallas 60-something, LA 30-something. We're talking about the Lakers here. The Lakers, whom I hate. And Dallas is supposedly this season's new champions as their record is 17-2. Dallas was supposed to win but they didn't. They played so shoddily in the last quarter that I was embarrassed for them. Everyone was missing shots, including Steve Nash who was second to my Peja Stojakovic in last season's all-star three-point shoot-out game.

My mom was tremendously impressed with Kobe Bryant's performance, which annoyed me. I mean yes the guy is good but he isn't the best. Michael Jordon is better. Allen Iverson is better and I don't like men who beat their girlfriends. I wouldn't go as far as to say Peja is better even though he's my favourite basketball player, second only to Mitsui Hisashi (who is definitely better than Mr. Bryant; so is Rukawa and Miyagi), but still. I think the Lakers are so overrated, it's not funny. They are a two-man team. Without Bryant or that idiot Shaquille O'Neal, who cannot shoot free-throws, let alone three-pointers and relies solely on his size to get him through defenders, the Lakers would not have had their three straight championships. And even with those two onboard, they aren't totally infallible as they've lost more games than they've won.

So in short, the Lakers suck. Die, Lakers, die!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010