i don't know what to put here
written: 12:33 a.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2002

It's probably really lame and big-headed to laugh at something you've written yourself, but whenever I read the Mitchy fantasy I typed yesterday, I just start to laugh. It was obviously meant to be taken as a joke, what with the 'my love's and the 'my dashing, charming [insert name]'s. I just adore writing and reading about Mitsui. He is so completely kawaii (cute) and charming and adorable. I like making him say dumb and tactless things in my fanfics. It just kind of suits his character. So far I don't think he's very well-developed in the show, except for the whole ex-gangster thing. You don't really get a glimpse of his life outside of basketball and of school. Still, him doing crazy things, like watching flower pots fall (my fic) or insulting Miyagi when he's heartbrokened (another funny as hell fic), just kind of fits.

Anyway, Rukawa is great and yesterday he saluted Gori. God, how absolutely strange. He helped Shohoku tie with Kainan by scoring baskets after baskets. I mean the score is 49-all at half-time and he had 25 points. So yeah, he saluted the captain and he high-fived Kogure. How odd. Mitsui was so excited that he had his arm around Rukawa's neck, almost choking him. Haha so adorable, I loved that! I think something bad's gonna happen though. Kiyota blocked Rukawa's shot. And he seemed really fired up. And my brother told me Shohoku lost by one point. Argh, devastating. I hope my brother's just fooling with me.

I borrowed The Piano from the Esplanade library a week ago. I watched it tonight. And unsurprisingly, the sex scenes were ALL cut out. And it was done very, very haphazardly. For a while all you see is a black screen with some white lines flickering here and there. When the first cut happened (Mom said it was a scene of Harvey Keitel [sp] being naked) I was like, WHAT????? THIS IS HOW THEY CUT OUT THE SEX SCENES?????

When the second cut happened, I had enough. I didn't even know what the fuck was going on. It didn't help either that the actors spoke with weird accents and I couldn't catch half of what they said, and there were no subtitles so I had nothing to read. And they couldn't even cut the scenes properly. I still saw traces of Mr. Harvey's groin area. And my dad was like, "Huh? What is this?"

He watched the movie with my mom before so he knew the content. He was just shocked that they didn't cut the scenes properly. And he had the audacity to say that it was right to censor those scenes! What the fuck! I couldn't even follow what was going on! And censorship is stupid. If a movie is made, it's meant to be seen. And if something should offend, don't watch it. It's that simple. I don't need half-baked politicians who know nothing about the arts trying to 'protect' me from sexual scenes. Like, puh-fucking-leeze. I happen to already have a first-hand experience of things like that, okay?

Argh I just hate it when the state treats teenagers like kids and expects them to respond like adults to stupid educational, overly stressful rubbish that nobody should care about at this age. We're supposed to decide our future at age 16, compromising interest for money, and we're not allowed, so to speak, to watch a great movie in comfort just because it contains explicit sex scenes! Stupid, stupid conservative country. Everyone should just go suck on a fucking dick.

I ranted about this exactly a year ago, in my private diary. I still feel the same way. If sex scenes are so offensive, why not just cancel out sex scenes in novels? Wouldn't that make sense? Let's outlaw sex! Drive it out of music, film and literature! After all, it's the only way to protect impressionable, airheaded teenagers who can't think for themselves.

So I managed to watch only an hour of The Piano. Holly Hunter is amazing. I wonder if she won an Oscar for that role.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010