rulers of the world unite!
written: 8:42 a.m. on Saturday, Feb. 21, 2004

My brother's alarm clocks -- yes, all three of them -- woke me up again this morning. Why the hell does he have three alarm clocks? The dumbest thing is that he proceeds to catch another five or ten minutes of sleeping after all three of them start ringing (and they do so in order, one after another), while I am jolted fully awake from my precious slumber. I used to sleep through alarm clocks like a log. This is just a sign of the times. People, I'm growing old. Goddammit.

The past couple of days have been pretty eventful. I didn't get round to writing about them earlier because I was home quite late on Thursday and Friday, which was essentially yesterday, but yeah.

Now, where the hell should I start? It would make sense to go in order but I've never liked order, and I've never made sense anyway, so I'll just start from the one thing that had me all excited and crazy and smiling and all things nice.

It was DramaFest yesterday. I mentioned this sometime back, but for useless buggers who don't remember, my class did a loose and toned-down adaptation of "The Vagina Monologues". I said 'loose' because it's a pot pourri of plays, actually, very nicely put together and orchestrated by my dear Mel. I played the role of a student thinking about dressing up her vagina in the midst of a biology class, in which the teacher teaches the class how sex is carried out.

I was hamming it up, I was on some odd adrenaline rush, I can't act but what the fuck anyway, it was supposed to be subtle but it came it a little bit too obvious instead, but I don't really give a fuck because ultimately, we won.

You see, there were four productions (three by Year Twos) and four awards: best actor, best actress, best ensemble and best adaptation.

I said before that we won, right? Yes, we won. We won two awards, best ensemble and adaptation.

I mean, how fucking awesome is that? I seriously thought that we were extremely under-rehearsed as we could hardly find the time to really polish things up. And there were a few blunders here and there along the way, like how my adorable classmate who played a little girl being interviewed about her vagina forgot her line and said her last line when it was supposed to be something else, and the background music, played live on the piano by the Bimbo, was supposed to stop when she says the last line, and indeed it did stop but the interview was far from being over and so I had to continue, and that was really quite a blunder especially since... well, I don't know what, exactly, but YES, the POINT is, goddammit, WE WON, despite everything.

God, I love the taste of winning, that awesome adrenaline rush one gets out of it. It's a group effort, yes, but that only makes everything so much more fantastic.

My class rocks. Wait, scratch that: the Literature students of my class rock. I wish we could do this all over again.

Ever since quitting drama in lower secondary I've had this crazy phobia and wariness towards stage and all things related to drama. I hated it in secondary school. I couldn't stand the people I had to be around, I didn't like the teachers, and because I didn't get along well with anybody, I hated the long hours. It didn't help too much either that I was 14 and going through my "I am so depressed oh help me" phase.

I still have some reservations towards drama, but after last night, my hatred for it has waned quite a bit. It made me realise that I could pull it off, I could have fun doing it if I did it with the right people... and yes, I was doing it with the right people. Mel, my super twin/husband/bimbo counterpart/groupie partner, whom I absolutely love and adore, and all my gorgeous gorgeous classmates and friends who put in so much to make sure we didn't fuck up too much, it was absolutely amazing, and I wish we could do it all over again.

We did this together. All of us.

My beloved class, we totally rule.

**

It may seem kinda schizophrenic to switch topics so quickly, especially after that uncharacteristically non-cynical and appreciative bit up there, but this is what happens when one tries to cram everything that happened into one entry.

So yeah. Feather was one of the judges. Mel and I took a photo with him. He's adorable. And I hereby announce that the previous entry is more or less obsolete, because Mel and I took the same bus with him on Thursday and we talked to him on the bus and while waiting for the bus to arrive, and while it was definitely an unusual experience talking to someone as profound as him, I discovered that he is still, after all, human.

Still, talking to him was quite an enjoyable experience, and no, it wasn't because he's so damn good-looking or anything stupid along those lines, and hello, he was dissing my stupid poem left and right (although I didn't tell him that it was from me but more later) and god, my ego was nearly completely crushed, but still, it was... well, I don't know how else to put it except that it wasn't like any conversations I've ever had with anyone before, save for perhaps Mel, but hers is more of the psychotic psycho-babble -- eloquent psycho-babble -- type rather than his understated... ELOQUENCE.

It would so rock if he were my GP tutor, but no, fate has to yank my chain this way and stick me with some bloody old ineffective hag who'd probably continue to cram my style until I FAIL General Pointlessness at the end of the year.

No, that will never happen, because I am going to get an A1 and that's that.

Seriously though, Feather is good. He did double major in the university, English and Literature, which is like, wow and all.

And I just sat here for about five minutes, thinking of how to complete that paragraph and I've come to the conclusion that I can't, so forget it.

Anyway, I brought up the poem, and I was very very tempted to tell him that it was me, but he said something that made me hesitate and eventually change my mind. I asked him if knowing who wrote it would make a difference, and he said, "Yeah, more or less. I'd go out of my way to bo chap her."

('Bo chap' means ignore.)

Obviously, I paraphrased his words as I am not psychotic enough to remember every single word that he's ever said to me, but he did use the phrase 'bo chap', but anyway, I heard that and I was like, "What? That's so mean!"

Feather: I have to be professional, you know.

Come on man, it wasn't a love declaration, it was an ADMIRATION thing. I was just declaring my admiration towards you, not anything else beyond that! You're not the only one who feels weird about it, you know.

Anyway, I sense diarrhea coming on and I gotta leave the house at 10 and it's 9.40 a.m now so I'll speed this damn thing along.

It wasn't really right of me to say that he dissed the poem, because he wasn't that cruel about it. Mel and I pretended that the writer of that crap was a friend of ours, which isn't too far from the truth as I'm Mel's friend and my friend as well, but anyway, he basically thought that it was over the top, and that the last bit was "clumsy", to which I couldn't agree more. It was basically a very constipated piece of writing, and calling it a poem is actually giving it way too much credit.

Anyway, he told us that, and he went, "But don't tell her I said that."

Talk about dramatic irony, a la Shakespeare! I almost said, "Wah, dramatic irony sia" out loud but luckily I didn't.

(I don't know what 'sia' means either.)

But yes, it was nice talking to him. He even mentioned that the John Cusack movie "Identity" was good, but I can't remember why and how.

And this entry will be continued. I have something quite dumb to share but I'm out of time, so later, if I bother coming back at all.

PS. ARGH! WE WON!!!!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010