i'm bad with titles.
written: 1:00 a.m. on Friday, Apr. 15, 2005

This is quite strange. The modem isn't switched on and yet I have Internet access. Why is that so? Can someone please explain it to me, the technological idiot?

Anyway, my head's currently hurting like mad and I'm tired but I can't sleep because I, like the true genius that I am, happily ordered a cup of Hazelnut Elephanccino from NYDC at 8.30 p.m. yesterday. Hence, I can't sleep, no matter how tired I am - which is a horrendous feeling, if you want my honest opinion. Oh well, it's better to deal with it by typing crap online than by lying on the bed, eyes wide open, waiting for slumber to beckon but of course it doesn't until...I don't know what either.

I'm thinking of working in a law firm. The problem is, I haven't the faintest idea how to go about looking for such a job. I definitely do not want to do retail again; after StarHub, it's hard to be satisfied with anything less than $7/hour, sad to say. The downside is, I'm too lazy to go job-hunting again because my job-hunting experiences weren't the most pleasant ones in the world, to put it mildly. Most of the time I was sent on pointless wild goose chases that were a major waste of money on transportation, so, yeah.

Oh, I don't know. I haven't heard anything from NUS Law and I'm fucking worried. If I don't get shortlisted for it, my life is freaking over because there is no way in hell I'd let myself go to FASS without USP; even with USP, I don't think I'd be too keen on it either.

Hell, just put my ass in Cambridge please and I won't complain and whine about not being able to do Lit because it doesn't pay, yadayadayada, shit like that. I just wanna die.

Anyway.

Long tiring day yesterday. Met with StarHub people in the afternoon and then my St. Nicks pals at night. Watched Be Cool at Cineleisure with the StarHub folks; wasn't as good as I thought it'd be, was boring at parts, but I think Vince Vaughn's performance was the most hilarious thing I've seen in quite a while. He saved the movie for me, to be honest. He was uproariously (sp) hilarious, what with his pseudo-black accent and all. And then there's that scene in which his body caught fire and...well, I won't spoil it for those who haven't watched it, but simply put, it was the most creative freestyle dance I've ever seen, ever. Hilarious shit, really.

I don't know why, exactly, but whenever I see Vince Vaughn, I just wanna laugh. He's pretty versatile an actor, actually, considering he played Norman Bates in Gus Van Sant's unfortunate and abysmal remake of Hitchcock's Psycho, as well as Lester the Murderer in Clay Pigeons with my ex-husband Joaquin Phoenix, who are in sharp contrast to this pretty normal character Sherriff (however that's spelled) he played in Return to Paradise with - gasp - Joaquin Phoenix. And then there's Dodgeball with Ben Stiller - hilarious stuff again, but here it was more deadpan and understated than what he did in Be Cool. I mean, come on, when Ben Stiller is around, you don't need another clown, for too many slapstick actors spoil the comedy and all, but Vince still held his own - and hell, he did it wonderfully.

Okay, he's just funny lah.

I'm still bloated from the great dinner at NYDC. Parmesan Mushroom rocks my socks off.

It was just like old times, hanging out with Yun, Pearlyn, Carine, Liying and Junmin, as if nothing has changed. Carine led the major gossiping session about the people that went to school with us, and then there was that brief trip down memory lane when Junmin mentioned that incident in Social Studies during which Pearlyn made some lame ass remark about seeing Goh Chok Tong in some restaurant and how he was 'very tall', which induced stupid, senseless laughter in Yun and I that caught the attention and wrath of our teacher and she gave us this huge scolding and it was probably deathly embarrassing then but now, I just find it hilarious.

I may have hated it when I was there, but I still did make some pretty awesome mates all the same, and you can never go wrong with something like that.

Anyway, I never knew that Carine was into guy-on-guy action too! That is so amazing. Maybe we're all bonkers but I still maintain that I feel sorry for straight females who can't appreciate it, however potentially homophobic this may sound (but screw that because I know I'm not). I so wanna go to a gay club! I'd dress guy and all and hook up with a few hot gay men and have fun!

Okay, I don't think I could ever pass off as a guy but hey, no harm indulging in useless fantasies for a couple of seconds, right?

I can't think anymore but I just wanna say this one thing before I end this. American Idol is stupid. I actually liked Nikko Smith, you brainless voters who swoon over disgusting Constantine with his fuly double chin and the way he stares into the camera with that 'come on my face' look. Like, fuck, how gross. I can't stand him and hell, he's not that great of a singer. I honestly thought that his rendition of Bohemian Rhapsody was theatrical at best; so fake, so insincere and over-the-top. Simon said it was 'astonishing' and I'm here to finish his comment: It was astonishingly BAD. Fuck you, Constantine.

Two other contestants whom I can't stand: Scott "Fat Ass" Savol and Anthony "Trying to Act Sexy" Federov, however you spell his bloody last name. Out of the two though, Scott pisses me off more. I seriously think that the reason he's still in the competition is because 50% of the American population is obese and they're all voting for that stupid, overrated loser who definitely cannot sing half as well as Nikko. That stupid comment he made after Simon criticised his version of "She's Gone" by Hall & Oates? Shit, someone should've just hit him over the head with a red aluminium baseball bat, a la Vince Vaughn in "Be Cool"! Did you see that sour expression on his face when Simon kept it real (and hell, he did) by telling him that it was not very good? God, I so cannot stand that fat ass loser. I hate the way he speaks, I hate the way he sings, I hate the way he tries to play the suave card by removing his glasses when Ryan was reciting the his vote number (like what the hell? You're still damn ugly anyway), and I hated his claim that he's the real rocker on the show in that pre-recorded segment they showed before he sang. Fuck you, try to pull a Bo Bice and you'll hear me laughing the loudest, all the way from the States. He has this stupid uneducated, yankee thing going on, this very rough edge to him, and I really can't stand that. I used to think he was okay and I didn't dislike him this much until Nikko Smith got voted off instead of him. Seriously, America is full of retards. When Scotty tried to do that Phil Collins song? Help my fucking eardrums! And when he sang "She's Gone", he sounded soooo awful on those low notes, and Randy was right, a real singer would've been able to pull them off!

Moving on to Anthony. He's the most boring contestant ever. I've disliked him since Day One, when he sang that slow as hell song and put me to sleep. He's bland, boring and too boy-next-door for my liking. He doesn't have that rocker edge that Bo Bice has, and neither does he have Nikko Smith's coolness. He's just...a boring dude. Fuck Anthony too.

Amongst these three though, I'd have to say that I loathe Scott the most. He should just go home.

Okay, rant over. I'm going to bed.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010