no title today.
written: 4:43 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 10, 2006

Part IV of the Civil Law Tradition has shitty readings. I'm only reading the very first part and already I want to rip it up. If I read another sentence about how American law schools are oh-so-great and enlightened and informed and how civil law universities' law schools are clinical and rigid and lifeless, I think I will flip. The bias is so obvious throughout the whole article that I find it difficult to believe that it was published in the Standford Law Review. Stupid American superciliousness and arrogance. This is one major reason why anti-American sentiments are become more and more prevalent in the world today.

The word 'Merryman' is such a turn-off. Now I wish I hadn't wasted money buying his book and that I'd just, like, photocopied it instead. Damn me and my stubborn principles! I am so selling his book when I'm done with the module.

**

In other news, my Company tutor emailed us a week or so ago, telling us that today's Company tutorial was re-scheduled to tomorrow. So I happily went home after Trial Advocacy lecture, had lunch and watched Episode 2x01 of Veronica Mars (because I had nothing else to watch and because I received my DVD set sometime back and haven't watched it yet!), aimlessly surfed the net a bit. Then I thought I'd check my NUS email even though I fucking hate Outlook Express, and guess what I found waiting for me?

An email from my tutor, sent at 12.16 p.m. TODAY, telling us that she made a mistake in the email I mentioned in the above paragraph; the re-scheduled tutorial is for next week, not this week, and there is tutorial today.

When I read that it was exactly 3.58 p.m., which means tutorial had already ended. Naturally, I freaked out. I hastily typed a reply to her telling her that I didn't see the email until real late; could I make up for today's class?

Fortunately, I wasn't the only one who didn't see the email. Only five people turned up for class today and she's conducting the lesson next Wednesday.

All is good, basically, except my driving schedule which is slightly screwed up right now.

And so I abandoned my Company tutorial and happily went on to CLT. My happiness was, most unfortunately, not to last, because Americans are irritating and apparently law school professors - from Stanford, no less - are not exempt from that rule.

Another thing I can't stand about CLT readings (the extra ones that are given, not the Glenn book because I totally covet the Glenn book)? It's basically America versus Europe. And that bloody annoys me. I think Singaporeans should start writing articles on comparative law so that it'd actually be relevant to me, so that I won't get pissed off all the time reading about how Totally Awesome! American law schools are and how the rest of the world is still stuck in the middle ages. Like, give me a break. At least pretend to be fair and balanced.

For my law friends, please go read the first six pages of our Part IV readings and tell me if it doesn't piss you off even a little!

While I'm on the subject of Merryman, to be quite honest I didn't see the bias in his book when I first read it. It was only until Prof. GB was bitching about it during lecture that I was all, "Oh YEAH. How did I miss that?" I mean, the whole shit about the light returning to Europe when Justinian did something or other or whatever the heck it was struck me as odd, but I dismissed it as the writer trying to be dramatic, and doing so very badly, too. It all makes a lot more sense now, and I'm glad the light has returned to my head.

Anyway. I'll stop bitching about him now.

**

I forgot my handphone today and I was all stranded and helpless. I usually call my mom to pick me up from the Upper Bukit Timah bus stop when 171/67/170 takes me there, because I have to take another bus from the bus stop to get to my house - which is completely ridiculous because 173 takes about ten million forever's to arrive, and because my condominium is actually only a street away - which means it's very near.

Unfortunately, it's not near enough for walking. Oh I could always walk and sometimes I don't mind spending 15 minutes walking home from the bus stop when I can reach my destination fine in 3 minutes by calling for mommy, provided the weather is all dark and windy and nice.

But was today dark and windy and nice? No. It was sunny and hot and humid and sticky. I was already sticky while walking down the slope from school to the bus stop. And because I thought it didn't make sense to cross the road from the Upper Bt Timah bus stop to the Rail Mall place where I could call home from a payphone when I could just, like, walk home, I actually decided to walk home. (Waiting for 173 is never an option. I hate waiting for buses.)

I think it took close to twenty minutes. And it was hot. I was carrying a laptop. And I had shitty shoes on, shoes from bloody URS which sucks-ass because it never, EVER fails to give me blisters. And I had to climb up this ridiculously narrow flight of stairs from the bus stop to Hume Ave, and that was extremely tiring. Not only that, I was mentally assaulted by the fear, at the back of my mind, of falling backwards off the stairs, because the stupid steps were so narrow, and I didn't wanna touch the railings because it was hot and because it was dirty.

To top everything off, I'm having my period as we speak and it's Day 2 which means it's on the peak of Copiousness with regard to...well, I'm sure you can connect the dots on your own. And that, the copious thing, is absolutely the worst shit ever.

So by the time I got home, I was extremely annoyed. Thankfully, Veronica Mars cheered me up a little, and I finally got over my bad mood when I found out that there's no Company tomorrow. Bwahaha.

Oh I so can't wait for this dreadful semester to be over!

**

My stupid, stupid Internet connection keeps dying on me. I'd be d/ling things happily and surfing the net and all that jazz, just minding my own business, and suddenly nothing works. The downloads stop. The Cannot Find Server page appears after a minute of trying to locate a website. What the fuck? I hate Starhub. It happened three times yesterday. I honestly never knew I was paying Starhub to piss me off.

Okay, so I'm not the one paying, but that's really not the point. The point is, Starhub sucks. A lot. If only they didn't (don't? No idea) have a monopoly on the Internet cable market, I highly doubt I'd be using it right now.

**

Grey's Anatomy sucks.

I think it jumped the shark in early Season 2. I really cannot express how much I hate its main character, Meredith Grey. Not only is she completely spineless and whiny, she hardly does ANYTHING surgery-related on the show. How am I supposed to believe that she's this great surgeon which the pilot of the show made her out to? And not only that, I think it's absolutely disgusting the way she fucked Derek in the hospital during last season's finale, knowing all along that he's married.

And Derek really sucks too because he's such an adulterous bastard. Why even bother trying to work out your marriage with Addison, who's ten trillion times hotter than Mehredith, when it's obvious to any viewer with eyes that you're pining after your INTERN?

To make things even worse, now there are two hot doctors (Derek and Finn, a.k.a Robin in Batman and Robin or whatever - yes Chris O'Donnell. Who's like. Really hot.) chasing after Mehredith and for the love of my sanity I cannot figure out why. It's ridiculous, absolutely ridiculous, and the "decision" she reached in Episode 2 of Season 3 is enough to make me stop watching altogether.

BUT.

There's Christina Yang and she's hilarious, and Sandra Oh does the delicate line between Comedy and Tragedy so damn well. One minute she's all crazy and self-absorbed and hence funny; the next, she's vulnerable and not so funny anymore.

More importantly, I'm so in love with Alex right now that I'm willing to put up with characters that make me sick just so I can drool over his utter, absolute, indefeasible and irrebuttable hotness (okay, see? law school has invaded and raped my vocabularly). He's sporting a new hairdo in Season 3 and OMG he's never been THIS hot before!

Actually, on second thought, Justin Chambers used to model for Calvin Klein and I image-googled him yesterday after watching the second episode and his CK ads are HOT. He seriously channelled James Dean in some pictures, from certain angles. But he doesn't really look like James Dean. The only person whom I think is a dead-ringer for James Dean is James Franco.

But yes, Alex/Justin Chambers is so hot, and JC has like five kids, which makes it kind of wrong, but nonetheless. Hotness.

I like two new shows: Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, which has Matthew Perry, is created by the West Wing creator, and its pilot had Judd Hirsch, sp. Like, oh my god, and everything. Because Judd Hirsch played Artie in Running on Empty, one of my favourite movies. The cold open from Studio 60's pilot was amazing. I think half of it had to do with Judd Hirsch's brilliant acting; he was so believable as the network executive having a melt-down on national TV. For those few minutes, I was really kind of...entranced. Unfortunately, Amanda Peet sucks and I kind of wish the character of Jordan had gone to someone else because bloody hell, AP cannot act. Talk about as wooden as Keanu Reeves!

Another show I like: Six Degrees. The pilot was awesome. I think it isn't doing too well ratings-wise though, which means it's gonna get cancelled real soon. Oh well. It's funny how Jay Hernandez (sp? I can't spell) seems to always get characters named "Carlos". He was Carlos in crazy/beautiful, he was Carlos in Crash, and now he's Carlos in Six Degrees. Does Hollywood not know any other Hispanic names? How 'bout Eli?

The photographer in Six Degrees is very hot as well. Physically he's good-looking, but the hotness was cemented in my mind because of the arrogance.

Sigh. Arrogance makes a good-looking man hot.

That is kind of wrong but nevermind about that.

**

I actually don't dislike the Property lecturer as much anymore. I have no idea why. I still hate Powerpoint slides though. They make me want to copy down the things on the slide instead of listen to what the lecturer says, and the latter is the reason one attends lectures. Bleah.

I noticed that KW was blatantly sleeping in Property lecture today. That was quite funny.

And yay, we finally have CLT again! It'd be nice to go to school at 1 and everything because sleeping is really, really awesome, but the lack of CLT for the past few weeks has made law school extremely sian, for lack of a more succinct and apt word. The readings only piss me off because I actually read them - like, READ read, instead of glancing at the words and calling it reading, the way I "read" for Company (which will suck till the end of time). I like that I react to CLT stuff, and that my reaction is always more than my usual "shit lah this is fucking boring".

I'm never gonna have a future as a lawyer.

And I'm never gonna want to have a future as a lawyer.

Bite me.

**

Edited to add:

Okay, I'm all annoyed now. I just found out that The Departed is rated M18 - censored. WTF? I hate watching censored films. I'd rather pass on a film altogether than to watch it censored. There's just something really, really fucked up about censorship, especially censorship in this country, that totally annoys me.

Great. I was all excited about the movie because I LOVE Leonardo DiCaprio (not for his looks, horrors of horrors, but because I love watching him act; he's as intense and brilliant as Joaquin Phoenix) and since it's a Martin Scorsese film, it'd definitely be of some pretty high quality. But now I find out that it's censored and I'm like, Well, I don't want to watch it anymore.

Fuck. This is just disappointing and awful and wrong and screwed up on so many levels. What is wrong with this country?

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010