workaholic insanity.
written: 1:16 a.m. on Friday, Jul. 20, 2007

I'm so tired right now that I don't even think that I can think.

I was tasked by the LA to go through the Defendant's affidavit and make a chronology of all the events contained in the affidavit. Sounds easy enough, doesn't it? I thought, Okay, I could finish this before 4 p.m. I thought I would have time to look through the ten trillion cases I pulled out a couple of days ago which he's asked me to look at but I haven't done so. So I happily took the Defendant's bundle of documents from him, sat down in front of my laptop (I brought my laptop because I thought I would be doing that duress memo and the work station with the Firm's Fujitsu is damn noisy and I can't think in a noisy place, but it turned out the chronology was a lot more urgent) and began the task.

The happiness was not to last.

The Defendant's affidavit is sixty-one fucking pages long. And she's extremely long-winded. And the entire thing reads like a badly-written, badly-plotted, badly-told melodramatic love story.

It was torturous. Not only was it torturous, it took me LITERALLY the entire day. I started on it at 10 in the morning. I finished it at 10.30 at night.

After I was done, I went into Gmail to email it to the LA. In the subject I wanted to type 'Chronology' - and for a split second, I honestly could not remember how to spell it. And everyone knows I'm the spelling and grammar Nazi, and I truly believe that I'm only really good at one thing, and that's spelling.

So, yes, that was how tired I was. At around 10 p.m. or so, the LA sat down with me and started asking me questions about the change of position (I typed 'change of defence'. I need to sleep) defence to a restitutionary claim and I could not answer at all. He started shooting some argument off the top of his head as to why it did not apply in the current case and I sat there, listening, but now I honestly don't remember what he said. And he didn't even read Lipkin Gorman, a case we talked about in Trusts and Equity which only happened three months ago.

ARGH CAN SOMEONE KILL ME. This is why I have Lipkin Gorman opened in MS Word. I'm going to read it, attempt to understand what 'change of position' means EXACTLY, then go to bed. Because I have this vague idea about how a plaintiff's restitutionary claim cannot succeed if the defendant changes his position in good faith, which means that he improves his position, whatever that means, using the money he receives by mistake, an improvement that would not have happened but for the mistaken receipt of the money.

Which, honestly? Doesn't make any real, tangible sense.

And tomorrow - later on today - I won't be able to stay late 'cause I'm attending Celine's 21st birthday party. The really fucking scary thing? I'm seriously considering not going just so I could get myself up to speed with all the law stuff that I was supposed to have done TWO FUCKING DAYS AGO.

And you know what's even worse? I actually don't mind. In fact, I would even go so far as to say I'm having a damn good time being tortured the way I'm currently being tortured. I've represented that I am able to go back to the office on Saturday and Sunday and I'm really looking forward to it.

But then again, there's always the possibility that I'm not on the verge of killing myself or someone else because I don't do this on a regular basis yet. If/when I start actual work, I definitely would NOT want to go back to work on weekends. That's insane. In fact, I was looking forward to sleeping in on Saturday and Sunday but oh well, duty kind-of-not-really calls and all.

The entire case depresses the shit out of me. It's just sad, period. I can't do family law and matrimonial matters. Definitely NOT taking Family Law whenever.

I have a case to read and I want to sleep as soon as possible. Before that, I'm so doing drinks tomorrow night. I think I deserve THAT much.

Lastly, CAN'T WAIT FOR KING LEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010