Pardon my French.
written: 12:08 a.m. on Monday, Oct. 20, 2008

"I won't forget the sensation you gave me."

Gilles Simon is so cute, and so is his English. That was his parting shot of his finalist acceptance speech at the presentation ceremony. I couldn't help but crack up and quickly jot it down so that I can recall it whenever I need a few cheap laughs. In fact, I'm still giggling to myself as I type this. I would love to know what kind of "sensation" the 10,000-strong crowd gave him. HAHAHA.

Murray won, as expected, though Simon had two set points in the tie-break and could've taken it to a third set. Murray actually played a pretty boring defensive game until he got closer to the end, but those super long rallies were pretty exciting, if only to see who made the error first (pretty evenly spread out between the two of them). I think Murray's gonna overtake Djoker as #3, if not by the end of the year, then sometime next year. But then, I don't care who's slugging it out for the rest of the placings on the ranking; all I care is Roger getting back his #1.

Anyway, I officially have a crush on Gilles Simon. He's sooooo pretty, omg. He totally looks like a girl which is why I think he's so cute. He has killer eye-lashes and actually kinda looks a bit like Cassidy "Beaver" Casablancas from Veronica Mars (forgot the actor's name. Is it Kyle something?), but less constipated-looking, less freaky-looking, and way cuter. The fact that he denied Nadal the place in the final also endears him to me much more. Ooh, I hope he makes Paris and Shanghai, so that I can at least get the chance to try to see him play again. Would be interesting, too, to see what other "sensation[s]" he receives.

Oh I love listening to Europeans speak English. They never fail to crack me up. (Gilles Simon is French, by the way.)

***

I just drank this huge cup of chin chow and now I'm so full and bloated.

Also, I swear, I can listen to Roger Federer speak in Swiss German all day long with a silly smile on my face even though I haven't the slightest idea what he's talking about. Too sexy. Too sexy. And I've never thought of German (and its various derivations) as a 'sexy' language. Sigh! I love my Federer.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010