ARGENTINA! =(
written: 2:35 a.m. on Sunday, Nov. 23, 2008

Oh my god, Nalby and Calleri fought back from 1-5 to even the third set of the Davis Cup doubles match!

And I didn't know that Nalby was tasked to play doubles too instead of the guy who was originally going to play (don't know who he is). If I'd known, I would've set a timer record on my DVR for the whole thing! Now I have to stay up until the match is over to turn off my DVR, and stupid SuperSports is showing a one-hour delayed telecast. Seeing as how Spain is now up 6-5 in the third set, this match isn't likely to end within the hour.

Argentina please serve well to stay in the set please. PLEASE. I want to watch Nalby play doubles; if Argentina loses, I'm not going to watch it. So please win!

The hype over Del Potro has been quite silly, in my opinion. An article about the Davis Cup final in the Straits Times said something about how Del Potro's leading Argentina to Davis Cup victory, which is like...I mean, yeah, Del Potro is #9 and all, but he's 20. Nalby is 26, and he's been around way longer than Delpy. So, show some respect, please. And just like I guessed, Nalby is the one doing all the work here, first dismissing Ferrer in easy straight sets, and now playing doubles too, which means he's playing three best-of-five matches back-to-back this whole weekend. Which is crazy. Apparently Del Potro isn't able to play the Sunday singles because he injured his toe and his tongue.

Seriously. His tongue? I get that any shake-up in a player's physical conditions is able to affect his game, but his TONGUE? Since when did tennis playing involve the tongue in any serious manner?

All these young players are so overrated, it's not even funny. At the slightest sign of wear and tear they're all OMG I CAN'T PLAY!1!!!1!1 OMG I NEED A TRAINER!!111!! OMG I NEED TO TAKE MEDICAL TIME-OUT FOR THIS TINY SCAB ON MY EYEBROW THAT I INFLICTED ON MYSELF!!!!!11!!

Give me a break. Sometimes I wonder if I'm following the women's tour instead. Thank goodness for Roger; the only time he calls for a trainer during a match is when he really, really needs it. He never does so as precaution, or for small, tiny scabs on the eyebrow like Djokovic did in the Thailand Open final (which was just RIDICULOUS).

OMG ARGENTINA'S UP 5-1 ON THE TIE-BREAK. TWO POINTS TO THE SET. Shit, Argentina double-faulted! The worst time ever to double-fault in a match is during the tie-break because EVERY POINT COUNTS. Shit, Spain has two points on its serve. Oh nooo Lopez served an ace, 3-5 Spain. As predicted, Spain scored both points on its serve. 5-4 Argentina! Oh my god, two points on your serve, TWO POINTS TO THE SET, HURRY WIN DAMMIT WIN WIN WIN.

OH FUCK WHAT THE FUCK SPAIN HAS A SET POINT. HOW DID ARGENTINA GIVE SPAIN A SET POINT FROM BEING 3-0 UP. I WANT TO CRY.

OMG NOOOO SPAIN WON THE SET.

=( =( =(

I don't know how Argentina's going to win Set 4 when they're a set down. It's not impossible, but it's quite unlikely, even with Nalby playing. I'm so sad omg. If Argentina loses this, they'll be down 1-2, and they MUST win both the singles matches tomorrow! Too damn terrible. And Del Potro's not playing. Even if he IS playing, it doesn't mean he's likely to win anyway.

BLEAH. I'm going back to not understanding double actionability now. Fuck.

***

ETA at 3.44 a.m.:

ARGENTINA LOST! I'm so sad omg. How can a Nadal-less Spain possibly win the Davis Cup over Argentina? Shit, Argentina better win both matches on Sunday.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010