A proper entry.
written: 10:58 p.m. on Sunday, Jun. 13, 2010

Just came back from the Joshua Bell/Academy of St Martin in the Field concert to find out that Roger lost the Halle final to...Lleyton Hewitt.

My reaction is something like this: ...what?

Ah well. My favourite analysis of his post-Australian Open slump is the subconscious loss of motivation one. After you've pretty much done it all, what else is there to do? And when you have two adorable twin girls waiting for you at home, what's going to be the added motivating factor to push you to stay on the training courts, rather than go home to your family?

His love for the game, maybe. And that's probably why he hasn't retired. But considering all that he's achieved, and that he's a new father, I wouldn't be surprised if he's subconsciously lost the motivation to play the way he used to.

Ah well. Hoping for a better outcome at Wimbledon, obviously, and I'd be crushed if he doesn't win; but it wouldn't be the end of the world.

*

On another note, I think it's no surprise that my constipation problem came back exactly two days before I'm due to go back to work.

I don't even want to talk about that - going back to work. Next topic please.

*

Wei Chuen and I watched Killers at Cathay on Thursday. The original plan was to go to Universal Studios but neither of us knew that you had to buy tickets in advance. Like, online. What the fuck? I found out at the very last minute, i.e. when he was waiting for a cab to pick me up en route to Sentosa, when I checked out the place online. When I tried to buy tickets for that day, the system told me all tickets were sold out. I needed a human confirmation so I called them up and they confirmed it.

We were both very sad. He was all ready to get on his Mummy ride (haha he's so cute). Now we have to go on a Saturday which is a total bummer AND is six dollars more expensive.

Anyway, what I wanted to say was that we had dinner at the newly-renovated mall behind Cathay after the movie, and after dinner we spotted a dance studio with transparent glass walls opposite TCC (where we had dinner, and where he ordered the seafood aglio olio DESPITE me warning him that it was damn spicy and that I was sweating through it the last time I ate it. He regretted not listening to me after two mouthfuls of the pasta). It was some hip-hop dance class - instructor was dressed in baggy clothes and chunky, high-top sneakers, and the students were also similarly dressed. We stood outside to watch out of curiosity, and we were there for quite a long time - long enough to spot this older woman, about 30ish, in a white sleeveless top and orange track pants. She first stood out because of her age, then because of her bright orange pants, and finally, because of her absolute lack of coordination and general inability to dance.

It was SO funny. We spent at least 15 minutes watching her and laughing. He'd make some disparaging comment and I'd say to him, "Don't be so mean!" and then I'd proceed to laugh at her myself.

That said, I do admire her gall. If I were her...on second thought, I don't even need to put myself in her shoes, 'cause there's no way in hell I'd ever step into a dance studio with transparent walls. In the first place, there's no way in hell I'd ever sign up for a dance class, no matter what sub-category of dance we're talking about. So for Orange Pants to be there is amazing in itself, and I salute her courage and apparent passion.

Her talent, though? Not so much. But thanks for the laugh.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010