redundant 15 minutes of fame
written: 6:34 p.m. on Sunday, Sept. 21, 2003

Currently reading Neil Humphreys' "Scribbles From the Same Island", I think the book is called.

I should seriously stick to prescribed reading materials. But my hatred for the Victorian era will never wane, not even at the expense of a well-deserved A for Literature, I think, so it will be quite sometime before I force myself to read "Silas Marner" in its entirety. I read Chapter One during a fateful sleepless night and fell asleep immediately after that. Not surprisingly, I don't even remember what the hell it's about.

So on Friday I was duped into going for some stupid press conference thing about some youth club that my CCA has established some venture with. It's a long story and I'm not too sure about the cumbersome details so I won't go into it, but let me just say that I detest pretentious self-serving individuals who pose as community-serving individuals (in other words, members of parliament, sp) who go to sleep every night with a self-satisfied smile on their faces, happy that they have accomplished something 'meaningful' for the community.

It's a bunch of bullshit to me. I hate yuppies. I hate yuppies who think they are in tuned with teenagers. They are not. Most teenagers could care less about establishing crappy youth clubs (like me, for example), and whatever street cred an adult may have had prior to his turning into a middle-aged, anal-retentive, irritating fart is more or less eroded away the very second he dons office attire and steps into an air-conditioned four by six with a lap-top in his hand.

I was at some weird penthous-office at Novena, a place pretentiously named "The Ideas Factory", and it was full of such people. It irked me to no ends how the speaker who started the ball rolling with a crew from Channel U (local Chinese TV station) sticking their camera in everyone's faces every few seconds tried to be hip by cracking tired and recycled jokes about his age that I didn't find funny at all, but sadly, everyone else in the room - students from my school and annoying fuckers of the youth club from the top 5 colleges, mainly represented by RJC males - laughed.

And speaking of RJC males, here's an observation: white pants = inevitable showing of knickers colour. Some guy wore powder-blue underwear, most wore white. So guys from schools that do not have all-white uniform should feel so ever lucky.

Seriously, that "press conference" was a bloody waste of my time. I didn't even know what the hell the whole thing was about in the first place; I only tagged along because I felt that I've been neglecting CCA duties and yes, there was a certain amount of guilt. Otherwise, I would've spent my Friday afternoon with The New Kid.

I kena filmed a few times and Channel U's photographer took two snapshots of my Slam Dunk sweater. Bloody hell. I hate taking photographs, even worse being filmed on video. If that news segment is ever aired on Channel U I doubt I'd watch it.

Whatever though. I gotta go for dinner.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010