������ÿһ���˶�����ƽ��
written: 1:06 a.m. on Sunday, Nov. 06, 2005

OH MY GOD I AM PISSED. I just wrote an entry and when I was attempting to delete something, the bloody 'back' button on my stupid browser was pressed instead!

Fuck Diaryland to hell.

I hate writing entries a second time. It's never the same and the quality is always worse than the original. I wasn't even going to bother writing this again but I wrote something pretty important, and so.

Okay. What I wrote, in brief:

1. I am watching the first season of Veronica Mars for the third time. Logan is yummy.

2. My favourite song from Jielun's new album is Romantic Handphone.

3. My dad yelled at me on Friday night for hating law.

4. Carine got into Simon Fraser University and I'm damn proud of her.

5. I spent Saturday finishing up my part of the research binder and it's finally done. Wahoo, but still, mark me down as ultimately indifferent.

Now, the bit that prompted me to re-write the bloody entry:

I got this link from Chloe's blog. I cannot understand how anyone can condone the death penalty for drug trafficking. I'm totally against the death penalty, but let's just narrow it down to drug trafficking. It doesn't add up. The punishment is in gross disproportion to the crime, in many instances the "trafficker" is a first-time offender caught in a sticky financial situation and thus momentarily lapse in judgement, and the most troubling fact? The prosecution doesn't have to prove that the accused was indeed "trafficking"; all it has to prove is that the accused was in possession of the substances.

Like, hello? Just because you were in possession of something doesn't always logically mean that you were distributing it. Example: Let's assume that one day my mom comes into my room and finds a condom on my table. A female friend of mine came by hours before and left it there because I asked to see it. Does that mean I'm having sex?

You grow up thinking that the law embodies fairness, and then you grow up and go to law school and realise that the law isn't always fair. In certain cases the unfairness of the law can still be justified, but when it comes to the very serious issue of taking away a life, your justifications have to be wholly convincing. I'm sorry, even though I'm not, but I'll never be convinced by the public policy reasons behind imposing the death penalty on drug trafficking.

Sadly, I know that no matter how many signatures that petition attracts, the Vietnamese Australian is going to hang.

From the little I know, criminal law is quite a joke in Singapore. Do you know that less than 10% of accused criminals have access to legal representation? In fact, I think the figure is even less than "less than 10%".

If I do go through with this law school thing I'd probably end up a really poor criminal lawyer.

Finally, I leave everyone with a brilliant essay against the death penalty while I make myself supper and enjoy Veronica Mars.

the title of this entry is from jay chou's "ni lin" and roughly translates to, "life is unfair to everybody".

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010