i'll take the good with the bad. and also, logan is so hot.
written: 1:06 a.m. on Saturday, Dec. 03, 2005

A: Veronica Mars, Episode 9: My Mother, the Fiend (Yes, I will talk about other things after I'm done with this. Yes, this contains a lot of spoilers, as usual.)

Um. Well. That was...entertaining. Mind blowing? Not really. Good? Duh, of course. Brilliant? Kinda falls short a little.

A tad disappointing, because after all the shit that went down the previous week I was expecting some answers, like what the heck is in the letter Duncan stole from Meg's room, whether the Irish gang is going after Veronica and Logan's asses, further developments with regard to the school bus crash mystery arc...but no. None of these were addressed (except the school bus thing, but only towards the end and the plot wasn't as much furthered as it was reinforced) and instead I was watching a rather weird Mystery of the Week involving Veronica's mom as a Neptune High student and a mystery baby girl dumped in the girls' bathroom during prom night.

Well, it was all entertaining and jolly and good, but it still seemed out of place, especially after all that happened in the previous episodes. The tone was dark, then darker, then super amazingly bloody-scary DARK, and in Episode 9 it's all light and fluffy?! Doesn't quite add up, I think. Of course, I'm not saying people have to die in every single episode, but greater continuity would be nice, thank you. This episode is more Season 1-ish than Season 2-ish, which isn't a bad thing, but...well.

And no it does not help that my show is only returning in January. I will be stranded in a Veronica Mars desert for the whole of December with no sign of a freaking oasis in sight. How lovely. It just has to occur during my freaking holidays, doesn't it? Bloody hell.

ON SECOND CHECKING, there will be a new episode next week! Hooray!

Negativity aside, I would like to announce that the Logan/Weevil fight scene in the bathroom is the best scene ever. That scene got the biggest reaction out of me (can we say HYPERVENTILATION?) and oh my god, two hot guys slugging it out on the floor in a locked bathroom? I want Logan for myself but DAMN I totally understand the Logan/Weevil slash now!

Bwahahaha. This is so wrong (it's right! /stupid VM reference) but ARGH Logan, you look so hot with a bloodied nose and a messed up face, and I don't usually like guys who fight with their fists instead of something less destructive but DAMN, I repeat DAMN, that was freaking hot. I'm still reeling from it, stupid as it sounds.

Love the fight scene. Logan and Weevil should totally fight more often. They should get together! Oh I can already see them making out in my mind...

Okay, sick, stop it Yelen, don't destroy the show! I mean, it's hot and not sick, but it's sick in the sense that it's totally incongruous with the show itself and I like my VM pure and functional (at least, as functional as it can be), thank you very much.

Of course, I won't ever say no to homoeroticism undertones. Yum Yum.

That's about as far as I go though.

Anyway, that aside, loved the snark between Trina and Kendall - Alyson Hannigan and Charisma Carpenter respectively. I never really thought much of AH when I watched her as Willow on Buffy; in fact, sometimes she really pissed me off as she came across as little more than a blubbering moron with skills in witch craft. As Trina Echolls? She rules. She's even flakier than she was last season and it's hilarious. Even though I don't buy Charisma C. as a 25-year-old (she looks older) she is awesome as the shameless gold-digging slut - whom Logan supposedly dumped two episodes ago but she's still hanging out in Logan and Duncan's apartment?

Doesn't quite make sense. That was the other thing that bugged me, the Trina/Kendall snark notwithstanding. Seriously, Logan Love, if you dump a person you're not really supposed to act like nothing has changed around that person. It's weird and I hate seeing you with her (it's just wrong) so um, Duncan can have her, okay?

Also, this is my first time finding Cassidy/Beaver Casablancas hot; before, he was just this dweeb who looked too young to be in high school. I love the fact that he's starting his own real estate company - males with a sense of initiative and a sense of direction? Totally hot, without question. The scene where he asked Kendall to be the face of his company? Maaaan I love how he's finally grown a spine and is no longer the Beaver that Dick and Logan push around!

Cassidy + Mac = AWESOME. I didn't get any vibes from Cassidy that he's also interested in her though; or maybe that's just me.

And...Weevil taped to the flagpole with his face bruised actually made me ache for him. Veronica saw him and just smirked and the Veronica voiceover went something along the lines of, "That's retribution for you." I thought that was kind of cold. I suppose Weevil deserved it for doing it to other people, but did he ever beat his victims to a bloody pulp and then tape them to the flagpole? No. The fact that Logan was behind it...kinda sucks.

Oh well, at least they've resolved their issues and aren't at loggerheads anymore.

Then again - Logan and Weevil punching the shit out of each other is totally hot, as is Logan with a bloodied nose, so maybe that's not really a good thing.

But Logan ganging up on Weevil and gang-punching him was not cool.

Then again, Weevil playing Russian roulette with Logan's arm was even less cool.

Oh well, still adore Logan to bits. Marry me, Echolls. You're so hot, it's not even funny.

Sexual undertones of the Kendall/Duncan exchange was extremely well-executed. I felt dirty listening to her.

Vice principal Principal Clemmons rocks. He looks like a bulldog but I've always liked him. Loved that moment in the Pilot when Veronica opens her locker during a "random locker search" by the sheriff's department to reveal an empty locker except a heart-framed picture of Clemmons taped to her locker door. Hilarious. And she went, "Well. This is a little embarrassing." HAHA. Love that moment every single time I watch it.

Finally: The alternate ending is fucking stupid and over-the-top. I am so glad they didn't go with it. Meg dying? Hello, I want more Meg; she's gorgeous and I love her clothes! And the whole "nurse catching Veronica with pillow hence making it look like Veronica smothered Meg" thing is so stupid. Have I mentioned how glad I am that they stuck with the ending that aired? Well, I am.

Also, my stupid episode was seriously screwed up. Towards the end the audio was faster than the visual, meaning the actors' lips moved slower than their bloody lines. I was pissed. It even skipped a few lines of dialogue. I was really pissed. I'm now downloading another version of the episode which I hope plays properly.

I need Season 2 DVDs already.

Have I ever mentioned that I am in deep love with Logan Echolls? Loved seeing Logan in class with a pen and a writing pad, being all student-ish, asking the teacher if he could go to the bathroom. Awww.

Of course, he had to spoil the student-ish thing by fighting with Weevil in said bathroom, but hey, all is forgiven, because that scene was totally hot.

Oh you mean I've mentioned that already?

B: Other Things

I forgot to mention this in my previous entry and so I shall do it now.

So wanna know the soundtrack I was listening to in my mind during the stupid Contract test? The Faders' "Whatever It Takes" (okay I'll 'fess up: it was played during Season 2 Episode 3 of VM and I recently downloaded it and after 2 listens it began to piss me off) and an advertisement for Fei Yu Ching's music show on Starhub Cable TV Channel 52, which is my favourite cable channel at the mo. Cable subscribers should tune in to Channel 52 every weeknight at 11 p.m. for the most hilarious thing ever.

Anyway, yeah, FYC's advertisement. Stefanie Sun, S.H.E singing Re Dai Yu Lin (Tropical Rainforest), A*Mei, Shin, and Dong Li Huo Che. Yes, every single snippet was playing in my head and boy was I pissed. In fact, I kept listening to the songs which was bad because I can't read and digest something with music on in the background; it becomes worse when the stupid songs are in my head. Hence, it took me forever to digest the words I was reading so that the parts formed a complete whole.

Also, halfway through the paper, I started thinking about Veronica Mars.

I can't even remember what I thought about.

Rob Thomas, if you have a heart, you will hire me to write for you after I flunk out of law school. It'd be your fault anyway, for creating and scripting a show as addictive and genius as Veronica Mars and getting me so hooked that I'm walking around with the sharp end of the hook pierced through my upper lip and I may even be bleeding to death right now without my knowledge.

Well, if you can't hire me due to budget constraints...take me as your wife?

Anyway, that's about all I wanted to say. Yeah. Good night.

Off to read the Televsion Without Pity thread.

Feels so good to be able to do my things without feeling guilty about not studying. Bwahahaha.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010