2006 in review-type thingy.
written: 8:11 p.m. on Sunday, Dec. 31, 2006

So I'm going to recycle this every year.

1. What did you do in 2006 that you'd never done before?

I got an A+ on a law school exam (four-credit though it was); I went back to Taipei with just my dad; I went to Bangkok; I turned twenty (haha, but this always counts though, doesn't it?); I drank with friends and not family; I dated a couple of random guys which eventually amounted to nothing; and to be honest, I really can't remember.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

New year's resolutions are a complete waste of time.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Nope.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Nope.

5. What countries did you visit?

Taiwan (de facto country) and Thailand. I enjoyed Bangkok. And Taipei will always be my love.

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?

Uh, let's see...good grades would be nice. An actual heartfelt attempt at studying would also be sweet. And - this sounds cheesy - I would like to have more freedom. Simple, isn't it? Yeah, sure.

While we're at the things I would like to have, I think a greater sense of self-awareness and self-understanding would be nice, too.

7. What date from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

December 7. Because it was special. HAHAHA.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

This is tragic: The only thing that comes to mind is that A+. God, I need a life.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Everything else, exams-wise. On a related note, how I didn't manage to do better than last year despite suffering considerably less angst this time round with regard to the whole 'I'm trapped in law' thing.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I never seem to suffer illness or injury.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I would've said my Juicy Couture imitation handbag, which is of superb quality, but it's made of leather so hell no. (It was a moment of weakness and I hate myself for it.)

I can't quite keep track of my purchases because there are oh so many, but I do love this pair of jeans I bought from Esprit a lot. And this red top, also from Esprit. I realise that's not very descriptive but, well.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

So many people. The Sisterhood, Mel, Simon, Tingren.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

My dad. But that's not new.

14. Where did most of your money go?

If I were to make a serious estimate, I'd say Esprit. Seriously. And I lost my Esprit privilege card, probably in Bangkok, which sucks to high heavens. I can't live without my EPC. I need it replaced, stat.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Going to Taipei. I love Taipei. And the end of the Year 2 Semester 1 exams.

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?

Stereophonics' Dakota, and The Goo Goo Dolls' Dizzy.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?

I would say happier. Definitely. This time last year I was writing futile application essays to Yale University. Talk about over-reaching (severely), which only further exposes the extent of my unhappiness. Poor Yelen. Whatever, Self.

ii. thinner or fatter?

THINNER! Wahoo.

iii. richer or poorer?

Inverse-exponentially poorer. So broke, in fact, that I resorted to swiping my dad's ATM card for a couple of purchases at Mango - namely, a pair of jeans and a black 100% PVC handbag. Sigh. I never do that, you know, make active use of a parent's ATM card instead of just withdrawing a certain amount of money which is the original intention of entrusting me with the ATM card. Well, I'm an asshole.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Ah, it's the same old answer year after year: Study. Story of my life.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Um, I think the preceding answer implies the answer to this question: Slack.

And I wish I'd written less nauseatingly-bad shit that only serve to convince me that I fucking suck at writing. And I think my writing sucks. But that's just me being self-effacing, right? Yeah, okay. (Maybe I just have really high standards that I can't meet. Seriously.)

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

Already spent it and for the first time ever, it actually meant something. Gasp.

22. Did you fall in love in 2006?

Yes.

23. How many one night stands?

Dude, I'm like, a virgin.

24. What was your favourite TV programme?

Veronica Mars. What else is new?

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

I'm happy to announce that the answer is no. This is so helpful for my aura!

26. What was the best book you read?

Read England, England for the third time and it's still the best book I've read, period.

Apart from that, since I technically read it in 2004, I'd say Nabokov's Lolita. About time, right? Considering I bought the book six years ago and all? Yeah, I know.

Following that, I'd say Voltaire's Candide. Scathingly hilarious. Love satires.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

I said Stereophonics last year and I say Stereophonics again. A bit late, I know, considering the album came out in 2005 but damn, it's one hell of an awesome album and I love it. I didn't buy a lot of CD's this year; I think I bought like, four. Jay Chou, Wang Leehom, Stereophonics, and The Cardigans' Gran Turismo. This is so tragic.

28. What did you want and get?

I wouldn't say I wanted it, because it wasn't a conscious thing, but I guess I wouldn't have minded some changes to the status quo with regard to the love life. And to quote Veronica Mars, I think it, it happens.

Also, I wanted bangs and I have bangs now! And I like my hair more and more. Even though I miss the old feeling of having nothing covering my forehead. And I hate it when my hair gets into my eyes, which is most of the time nowadays.

29. What did you want and not get?

A B for Property. Fuck. And I just remembered Semester 2 of Year 1 happened this year too so I'll chuck in an A for Legal Theory just for kicks.

I also wanted a ride in a BMW but that didn't happen which is really, really good thing, on hindsight.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?

Royston Tan's 4.30, followed by Curse of the Golden Flower (the more I think about it, the more brilliant I think it is). And The Departed. Loved The Departed. It's hard to pick just one favourite, you know.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Oh my birthday was fun, for once. I had lunch with Rui and Mag, then had this super long heart-to-heart talk with Mag at Pacific Coffee opposite Marina Square. I think that was when we started becoming closer friends and it was just really awesome. And I was twenty.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

The tragedy continues: Good grades.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2005?

The Same Old Shit.

I don't really care about fashion. I wear whatever. Although I am wearing a lot more jeans and tank tops nowadays. I don't know why.

34. What kept you sane?

All-new episodes of Veronica Mars!

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

My Joaquin Phoenix obsession came back for ten seconds and left quickly soon after. I fancied Leonardo DiCaprio a lot, but I've always fancied him. Fantastic actor, he is. Mind-blowing dedication and authenticity, just like Joaq. I'd just so totally fucking die if they did a movie together. Seriously.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

I'm apathetic.

37. Who did you miss?

Mel, Khai, Pei, JC friends.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

The Boyfriend, which goes without saying. It still amazes me from time to time that I went through one year of law school without knowing he existed. Life is funny sometimes.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006.

Uh. Carpe diem. Yep. Love Dead Poets Society.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

"You don't know what it's been like meeting someone like you." - Superman, Stereophonics.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010