status quo.
written: 8:18 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 22, 2007

Opening dialogue from Brick:

Emily: Brendan.

Brendan: Emily.

Emily: Yeah... How's things?

Brendan: Status quo.

**

The film was not bad. Loved 90% of the dialogue. Loved the Emily/Brendan relationship. Knew who he shouldn't have trusted right from the start. Can see why it was compared to Veronica Mars, except it's way gloomier than VM.

Regardless. The Emily/Brendan relationship sealed the deal for me. Heartbreaking, it was.

I downloaded the shooting script from the movie's official website and spent 50% of Trusts lecture reading it. Why do I have a thing for reading screenplays of films that I've already watched? I don't know. But there was this point in time during which I wanted to write screenplays, and I still think that such things can be self-taught. It's fascinating, figuring out how a story translates from paper to film.

Anyway, that's just one of my...I don't know, weird...hobbies. Or something.

**

I should do Public Law readings. Yeah.

**

Favourite poem at the moment: Jim Carroll's "While She's Gone". I vaguely emulated his style in the poem when I was in JC2 and I'm very ashamed to say that the stuff I wrote in that style really, really sucked. Completely ridiculous tripe, if you want my honest opinion.

Jim Carroll is...okay. I think he wrote a lot better when he was on crack. Which means he isn't really that talented. But still, loved The Basketball Diaries. Too bad I lost that book. Oh well, it matters not; I've outgrown that phase anyway.

**

I really should do Public Law readings. Yep.

**

I ate SO MUCH today that I just wanna DIEEE. Heavy lunch at a nice place near my house with my mom; pan-friend linguine with home-made mackerel otah. It got way too oily after a while and I didn't finish it. Really liked the ice-blended mocha with soya bean milk without chocolate, though.

Dinner with Mag at Melvados. Baked dory with garlic croutons, after which we shared a brownie. I FEEL SO FAT. But the food was awesome.

Happy lunch, happy dinner, unhappy Trusts lecture.

On second thought, BC was damn funny in Trusts today. I listened more today than I did the previous lecture so I guess that kinda counts as an improvement.

Mostly though, I'm still devastatingly apathetic and indifferent.

**

Looking forward to Pei's birthday party on Wednesday. Something to do! Yay.

Really should do Public Law readings. Yep.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010