a word of advice to judges.
written: 12:44 a.m. on Friday, Nov. 16, 2007

"There are numerous and very distinguished authorities. But it is agreed on both sides that none of them is binding on me. In the circumstances, I do not see that I can refrain from citing all those which were put before me, even if the result is an inordinately long judgment for a case where the argument lasted rather less than two days."

From Indian Oil Corporation Ltd v Greenstone Shipping.

Word of advice: Next time, don't bother. Not only are you making life difficult for yourself and your court reporter, you're making life extremely difficult for the poor third-year law student who has to read your bloody 25-page judgment in which you cite all the authorities put before you just to find one freaking point. Seriously, all the authorities? ALL the authorities? Whatever happened to quoting the most relevant or on-point or useful or locus classicus-y one? Faint.

Normally I would glance through them but I'm DAMN SICK OF THIS SHIT and I'm not going through TEN FREAKING PAGES of authorities so - NO.

I hate exams. When is this bloody torture ending?

***

In other news, I had a horrendous nightmare.

I dreamt that I had a C- for my Emergencies short essay and a C for my Personal Prop assignment.

I woke up in cold sweat thinking it was real but when I realised it was just a dream, I felt slightly better.

I honestly do fear for my own sanity.

I also dreamt, inter alia, that someone's back from overseas for the December vacation and I saw that someone with another someone and it was decidedly unpleasant, and not all that untrue, really.

But on a more pleasant note, in the dream a very cute boy was trying to get my attention.

Things like that should happen more in real life, no? Instead of shitty things like the two preceding events I mentioned. I totally think so, you know.

***

My head hurts I wanna burn all my pers prop stuff I can't believe I willingly subjected myself to this freaking torture I must have been on fucking crack.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010