2007 in review.
written: 4:37 p.m. on Monday, Dec. 31, 2007

You know, I suspect that the only reason I recycle this survey every year is because I'm too lazy to come up with my own 'year in review' entry. I need to be prompted. Gosh, I suck. But it's okay, because...who cares?

1. What did you do in 2007 that you'd never done before?

All things decadent and closely associated with drunken nights of debauchery and chemically-induced highs:

A. I clubbed a few times. Notable occasions include:

First clubbing experience ever at Butter Factory with the Law Gang + Andre on the eve of Labour's Day or something, during which we had a hard time looking for a club that did not have a long-ass queue. It turned out to be Butter Factory. And it remains the best club that I've been to (not that I've been to a lot, but hey);

Mambo last Wednesday with Mel, Mark and Marcus, because it was just damn fun lor, and because it's MEL!!!!!!1;

First Mambo with Baoyue, Serene and Rachel (etc)! Meaning the one before the one during which I got drunk and made an unglam sight of myself. First-anythings are always memorable, this one even more so because Baoyue!!!!!!!!! Enough said.

B. Actually, I can't think of anything else decadent and drunken, so perhaps just clubbing.

Apart from that, I also interned twice, which turned out to be both incredibly fruitful experiences, and definitely pushed me in the right direction and equipped me with the right attitude to deal with this law thing. (I sound like I'm writing a cover letter. Speaking of which, I better get down to doing that soon.) Having lunch at Raffles Place in the 1 to 2 period is a whole experience in itself, even more so when it's raining. I wish I wouldn't have to go through that ever again but more likely than not, it's what I'm going to be stuck with, so I better get used to it.

I also made friends in law school with people who are outside my immediate circle of friends. Gasp shock horror faint and die NOW. Not only that, I volunteered to take part in something school-related. Can you believe this? Am I still me? How incredibly unbelievable.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I can't remember when I stopped making resolutions, but the point is, I stopped making resolutions. And that's gonna stay that way.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

MY COUSIN!!! Or rather, his wife. My cousin-in-law. OMG MY NEPHEW IS SO CUTE!!!!!!!! And his birthday is on CHRISTMAS!

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Nope.

5. What countries did you visit?

Taiwan and Cambodia. Like I said last year, Taipei will always be my love. And like everyone knows, I loved Cambodia.

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?

Once again, good grades. Because I need to have good grades. It's not even about what I would like to have; it's about what I need to have. As the semesters pass by my situation gets more and more dire and I don't want to have to end up killing myself, which I'm sure would be decidedly unpleasant. So there: Good grades.

Apart from that, what did I lack in 2007? I don't think I lacked anything in 2007. Sure, it was a shitty year from the start, but the shit somehow found a way to become something less shitty, such that it's now a source from which I draw strength and become a stronger, more confident person. I definitely felt like I lost something a few months ago, but I don't anymore. The shit is buried and dead, and I'm sure it will stay that way. And honestly? I have everything I need. The whole guys thing is...it's just an added bonus, something to do to pass the time, absolutely nothing essential. And that's probably the best thing that I'm going to take away from 2007, or any other year for that matter.

7. What date from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

None. I'm blocking everything out.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

A PLUS FOR MY TERM PAPER!1 THAT I SWEAT AND KILLED MYSELF OVER!!!

Hopefully this time next year I'd be raving about it being published, but as it stands right now...nevermind, that's a story for another entry.

9. What was your biggest failure?

STILL getting C's despite everything. That's really gotta stop at some point.

Apart from that, I don't think I failed at my relationship with the Ex whom I'm sure everyone's familiar with. Because calling it a failure connotes a sense of regret, like how I regret not taking Evidence and Personal Property seriously. But I don't regret anything. I don't feel like I could've done more, or less; I feel like I've done all that I could. In fact, I think this is the only thing towards which I feel like I've done, I suppose, my best, given it my all. So, I don't consider it a failure. It just didn't work, period. And that's that.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Does heart break count? Hahahahahaha.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

According to Kenneth, my $29.90 white Zara shorts is my Buy of the Year, but I don't think I'm that shallow so I'll think of something else.

Er. I would say the First Edition of Julian Barnes' Arthur and George but to be honest, it's ridden with typos which I found appalling and utterly unprofessional, so maybe not.

You know what, I can't think of anything. It's absurd that I'm expected to remember my purchases. Do you have any idea how much money I spend, and how frequently? I know I have a wonderful memory, BUT WE ALL HAVE OUR LIMITS. Give me a break please.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

All my friends mean a lot to me, but I would say Mag because she's really been there for me without fail this year, and I owe her a lot. I can only hope that I've done the same for her, and I hope she knows that I will always be around, no matter what. This applies to all my friends too. I love everyone!

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

I don't think I have to answer this at all.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Mango, Zara, Esprit, NUS Bukit Timah Campus Co-Op. And meals with friends. And alcohol. Especially alcohol. Sometimes I don't know why we drink; it's such an utter waste of money. $15 for a cocktail and I actually acquiesce to this ridiculous nonsense, when the same shit is going for, like, less than $10 in Cambodia? I must be mad.

But it's not the alcohol per se, of course; it's about the company. And good company is, like, totally priceless.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

This sounds sad, but...clubbing. Haha. I find it to be overrated, but it can be fun if done with the right people.

16. What song will always remind you of 2007?

Dakota by Stereophonics.

Then again, maybe not, because the parts that made me choke up a few months ago cease to have any effect anymore.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?

This time last year, I wasn't exactly happy, because the shit was already starting to hit the fan. And because I'm now mostly absolved of my emotional baggage, I'd say that I'm definitely happier now than last year. YAY SO AWESOEM!!!

ii. thinner or fatter?

OMG, I think I'm the same! I was 50 kilos last December. I'm now 50 kilos. SHIT I NEED TO SWIM MORE.

iii. richer or poorer?

Poorer. I'm always poor.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Study, as usual. This answer crops up every single year. It's utterly tragic.

And write. I wrote, like, nothing. I hate myself.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Giving a damn about ordinary, bland and normal guys who turn out to be so not worth it that I can't even begin to put into words the degree of disgust I have for myself for letting it affect me that much.<--- I wrote this in 2005. How sad is it that two years later, the answer still resonates? Okay, not completely, but the spirit of the answer applies.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I spent it with friends and family.

22. Did you fall in love in 2005?

Nope, and let's hope it stays that way.

23. How many one night stands?

You know, I don't think I could do it. I would end up wanting more, which means I would end up hurting myself. No point lah.

24. What was your favourite TV programme?

Veronica Mars! Which got cancelled, of course. Ugh. Brothers and Sisters, Dead Sexy Money, Damages.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Why hate? Such a waste of energy.

26. What was the best book you read?

Admittedly, I haven't read much. I'd go with Arthur and George. Perhaps it's the law student in me talking but I found the miscarriage of justice theme very enthralling. His writing in the novel was rather...it wasn't like his usual style; it was more historical, more factual. BUT, some things never change - he's still Julian Barnes. Amazing insight to the characters, especially George. He really made George come alive. HE SHOULD'VE WON THE BLOODY BOOKER.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

The Bravery. I know it's cheesy, but I love their first album! I'm so so so hooked.

28. What did you want and get?

Uh...I wanted to go clubbing and I got to go clubbing? Hahaha.

Nothing out of the ordinary, really.

29. What did you want and not get?

I wanted to stop getting C's but that SO did not happen. So sad.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?

Hmm. I can't think of anything.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

21. Had a celebration thing which was very much heart-warming.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Not getting C's. SIGH.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?

...

34. What kept you sane?

My friends, and myself, and to some lesser extent, my brother, in an entirely odd, not-real way.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

My husband, David Anders. I also fancied Blake Lewis quite a bit.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

s. 377A comes to mind.

37. Who did you miss?

Er.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Kenneth. He's damn funny. And he's a wonderful friend.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007.

Forgive the cliche, but: Life goes on.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Drinking back, drinking for two
Drinking with you
When drinking was new

...

I wonder if we'll meet again
And talk about life since then
Talk about why did it end

You made me feel like the one.

-Dakota, Stereophonics

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010