The Evolution of David Cook.
written: 9.59 p.m. on Sunday, Apr. 20, 2008

Why, yes, I do have way too much time on my hands, considering my next paper is in THREE WEEKS' TIME. I'm also perpetually dizzy with love for Cookie and I can't get enough of him, so I'm doing this for my own amusement. (Also posted in main blog.)

WARNING: THIS ENTRY IS EXTREMELY IMAGE-INTENSIVE.

As we all know, David is my bedtime story, my lullaby. While watching his American Idol videos in chronological order over the past few nights, I noticed that he has changed a lot since his first audition. He's changed in more ways than one, to be sure: as a performer, as a reality TV contestant, as a musician, as a singer, and I'm willing to wager, as a person.

But the purpose of this entry is to document the vast transformation in his appearance that has taken place because I'm shallow and because I like looking at David almost as much as I like listening to him (definitely not more, however). While happily collecting David pictures from the Internet for this entry, I still couldn't help but marvel over how different he looks now. Props to American Idol's stylists, I suppose.

So, here we go:

1. Audition

Erm. Yeah. I'm sorry, but the hair was just tragic beyond belief. Whoever told him that streaking his bangs/comb-over red/pink was obviously trying to sabotage him and he should totally ditch that person. And the faux hawk? Seriously, David? When I re-watched his audition I completely burst out laughing at his hair. Just - totally tragic. There's no other word for it.

Also, what was he wearing? There is no other word but "frumpy" to describe the grandpa argyle vest. David, please don't ever wear argyle again. You're forgiven for the latest Ford commercial because it wasn't like you had a choice, and I must also say that you don't look good in argyle. Never again, okay?

Still, his saving grace is that winsome, sunny smile of his. One look at that smile and my heart melts, nevermind the tragic hair and the frumpy argyle. David can smile his way into my heart anytime, anyday. But I'd still prefer a David who doesn't look like that.

Hollywood Week

Hollywood Week = Moment I Fell In Love With David Cook. No major faux pas here: nice unassuming, low-key brown shirt, the hair is tousled in the right amounts and shockingly doesn't look too terrible, even the soul patch isn't that painful to look at. You can't see it here but his nails were painted black which, of course, I find unbelievably sexy. (David and I can totally paint each other's nails! Wow.)

Still, I didn't find him drop-dead gorgeous or heartstoppingly hot then. I merely thought that he was kind of cute in a not-that-cute way and that he had nice eyes - which he does. Honestly, his physical appearance didn't make much of an impression on me in that episode; what really did it for me was that amazing voice of his, singing a shitty song in such a non-sappy, tender and heartfelt manner that I really had no choice but to fall for him.

Top 24 Announced

And then there is...this.

Pink tie, David? Oh my god. I chose the picture on the left to show that thing he wore in his pockets. Like, what?! When did he pick up that fashion statement? He did it again when he performed All Right Now and every time I watch the video, I just about piss my pants laughing.

I remember watching this episode with my mom, and when it was David's turn I was all, "Look, this guy is my favourite!" Then I looked at him and I was thinking, "Wow. His voice must be really good if he was an instant favourite." Then at the end of the episode all the top 24 had to do some cheesy dance, and when it was David's turn I just sat in front of my TV, not knowing how to react.

Nowadays though, whenever I see animated .gif of his attempt at dancing, I once again just about piss my pants laughing. It's hilarious. No wonder he said in the video in the previous entry that he doesn't do dancing.

Top 24: Happy Together

I think the look speaks for itself. I deliberately chose the picture on the right 'cause I couldn't stop laughing when I saw it. I think his straightened hair here is even more tragic than his audition hair because it's so fake and loser-ish. Seriously, Idol should fire whoever told him to straighten his hair - it's absolutely hideous. I have no pictures of his Happy Together performance because I can't look at Happy Together David. Even when I watch my Happy Together video I'd be thinking at the back of my mind, "Oh my god, how could he have got on stage looking like that?"

Strangely though, the first time I watched the performance I was so thrilled by how awesome it was that his less-than-stellar appearance barely registered in my mind. Of course I didn't think, for even a split second, that he was hot, but the appearance didn't matter at all. I LOVED his performance and that was the only thing that mattered.

Top 20: All Right Now

Once again, absolutely loved the performance, didn't think very much of or about his appearance. I still love listening to the mp3 of his performance because, oh my god, his vocals were just pitch-perfect.

But seriously? He looked dirty and greasy and slimy. You can't see the hair too clearly but his hair looked pretty bad, like it was obviously thinning. And the facial scruff? So all over the place that it made him look like some truck driver without an education (which is mean, but oh well).

All Right Now also marked the time David learned the rules of the game. The Simon talk back was unfortunate, and it made me cringe, especially after I blasted Chikezie a week before for doing the same thing. But of course I couldn't blast David; he was still my favourite EVAH, bad hair and dirty-looking appearance and all. It helped that David was obviously joking even though the joke didn't go down too well. Needless to say, he's never tried it again. The boy sure knows a thing or two about learning from mistakes.

Top 16: Hello

Also Known As: The First Time I Ever Thought David Cook Was Hot.

He shaved - that was a tremendous improvement from the previous week's unruly facial scruff. He put on a plain t-shirt and jeans which totally worked, and somehow his hair also looked presentable. I about freaked out and died after the performance because, finally, I could drool over my favourite guy's looks as well, no way!

And the picture on the right? SO CUTE OMG. I love the Many Faces of David Cook.

Top 12: Eleanor Rigby

Also known as: And the Hotness Continues. He's been mocked for that vampire-collared jacket, but I thought it was the hottest thing ever. David's sheer confidence and rock star persona that he exuded on stage also drove home the Hotness. The only thing hotter than a hot guy? A hot guy with confidence. And that night, David had it in abundance.

Picture on the right: HIS SMILE, OHMYGOD.

Top 11: Day Tripper

The Hotness Continues to Continue, and I still maintain that Day Tripper is his hottest performance. Every time I watch it, I go into cardiac arrest, especially during the eye-fuck (which isn't captured here, sadly). His hair also looked exceptionally good, which was probably the first time I found nothing to complain about regarding his hair. And the leather jacket/snug pants combo? David/AI stylist definitely knew what he/she was doing.

Top 10: Billie Jean

Still looking good, but the soul patch wasn't working, and neither was the messy hair. I also thought the all-black made him look a bit lumpy and tubby - which he was (tubby), but he didn't look tubby at all a week before.

But seriously, when David poured his heart out and sang the hell out of Billie Jean, how he looked completely did not matter. At all. Which is why I didn't notice how much I didn't like the soul patch until...um, now. The power of David's voice knows no bounds.

Top 9: Little Sparrow

Also Known As: The Death of the Comb Over.

I don't know how else to say this, so I'll say it straight: I cannot resist a guy in an all-white shirt. I cannot resist a guy in an all-white shirt whose hair looks like that. I cannot resist a guy in an all-white shirt whose hair looks like that and whose smile is just so brilliant that it never fails to make me smile.

Little Sparrow marked the OMG FUCKING HOT that David Cook has now become. Just...SIGH.

Top 8: Innocent

Also Known As: The First Time David Cook Delivered a Universally-Panned Performance.

The white jacket I don't like; it wrongly emphasised his waist area and it made him look stumpy. But he was totally working that new haircut, and it proved that Little Sparrow wasn't a fluke. HOTNESS.

Top 7: Always Be My Baby

The outfit was similar to Happy Together, but man, the execution was radically different. The hair somehow made him look boyish, and the tie/vest/shirt combo was just fantastic. ABSOLUTELY HAWT. This is one my favourite looks for him, though I think my favourite is still Day Tripper.

Also, I've always known he has pretty eyes, but it was only when I was watching the video 328572854 times that I was literally mesmerised by how gorgeous his eyes are. Look at the double eyelids and the way that look in his eyes speaks volumes. His eyes aren't just pretty anymore; they're absolutely beautiful.

Top 7 Results

*dies*

Picture on the right: David saying "yes" to the "are you single?" question.

In addition to loving his eyes, I also love his eyebrows. They're so nicely shaped and dramatic.

Picture on the left: That shirt? PERFECTION. So completely hot. Polo t-shirts definitely work for him, as does black.

And the hair? Still looking hot.

***

So there you have it, David's physical transformation. He seriously looks like a whole new person now, and as much as I love the new look, sometimes I find myself missing his train wreck comb over and his try-too-hard facial hair. Like the belly, those imperfections of his had the effect of endearing him to me even more. They were who he was before Idol happened, and I didn't like David because he looked like a star; I liked David despite how he didn't look like a star.

Now that he's all celebrity-like and will most likely become Hot Property after Idol is over, his days of thinning hair and messy comb overs and fugly soul patches are more or less over. Which is good, because he's definitely looking better, but I still kind of miss the old David that I fell in love with.

Still, no matter how his appearance changes, I'm sure that underneath the styling and the newly-weaved hair and the stylish clothes still lies the same person. And that person is...

Baby David LOLz

CANNOT. STOP. LAUGHING.

The next time I'm all depressed, I know just the thing I need to cheer me up.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010