David, get out of my heart!
written: 1:28 p.m. on Sunday, May. 04, 2008

I'm completely hooked on David's unreleased song which has been widely assumed to be called Optimistic to a Fault. I've played it about 24857295729515 times already despite how it's 2 minutes SHORT and has no beginning and end. I really don't understand why the people that uploaded it couldn't have uploaded the entire performance. And um, thanks for uploading the acoustic version of The Truth which is Teh Pretty and complete, but the audio cuts in and out and I can't listen to it because it pains me to miss David's voice every other two seconds. Bleah.

Anyway, what I really want to say is that I can't help but wonder what happened to him to inspire the lyrics for Optimistic to a Fault. Not that I have to know or think it's my business, but as I listened to the song over and over and over and over again, the lyrics increasingly seemed to describe, almost to a T, my own most recent relationship. Yeah, you know which one.


Optimistic to a Fault - David Cook

This second I would sing you to sleep
With kind words in mind and hearts sewn to sleeve
Nothing to chance and everything behind
Second chances pave the way to broken hearts
This is the moment where I tell you that I'm falling apart
And I'm stuck in reverse between the same damn lies

Oh no, there I go, optimistic to a fault
Go home, you can never go again

Anything at all is anything but you
I want nothing my dear
This always ends in tears
You were my everything and all
Now my everywhere but here
This always ends in tears

Second chances pave the way to broken hearts
This is the moment where I tell you that I'm falling apart
And I'm stuck in reverse between the same damn lies
Tossing pennies making wishes to make it right
Another lonely day another lonely night
And I would give anything if you would only pick up the phone

Oh no, there I go, optimistic to a fault
Go home, you can never go again

With anything at all is anything but you
I want nothing my dear
This always ends in tears
You were my everything and all
Now my everywhere but here
This always ends in tears

"Second chances pave the way to broken hearts": Well said, David, I couldn't agree more.

"This always ends in tears": Yup, you and me both.

"You were my everything and all, now my everywhere but here": You take the words right out of my mouth.

"Oh no, there I go, optimistic to a fault": I know I said in a recent entry that I'm inherently pessimistic, which only further underscores the fear that subconsciously had me in a gridlock during the entire period in which I was, yes, optimistic to a fault, and blindly so. Believing that everything would work out just because I wanted it to - once again, David has hit a bit too close to home for comfort.

On a lighter note, David can sing me to sleep anytime he wants.

***

On a much lighter note, I've decided that my biggest fangirl dream is to have David sing Justin Timberlake's "Sexyback". "You see these shackles baby I'm a (?) slave/I'll let you whip me if I misbehave"? I do believe that David's sexy deep voice will outsex Justin's thin, bordering-on-whiny voice and do that song the justice it deserves.

Okay, so I like Sexyback, and not merely for the very hot and suggestive lyrics. It's a stupid annoyingly catchy song that has stupid annoyingly good beats and it's nice and I like it, and not just for clubbing either.

You know, I need to get these things out of my head. At least when I pictured David singing Music of the Night in my head, there was a slim possibility of it happening (slim because prior to that, he never sang the songs I wanted him to sing. I'm still hoping to hear him sing out REM's Everybody Hurts one of these days and Mariah Carey's My All) and when it really happened...well, we all know how I was all OMG EFHSEAGAGSRHGSGB and everything. But when and why would David Cook ever sing Justin Timberlake's "Sexyback"? And if he does, it'd probably be a private function thing, as a joke between his friends, and I'd never get to see it (unless someone YouTubes it!). But now that I've successfully pictured David singing "I'll let you whip me if I misbehave" in my head, I'm going to be very unhappy until I HEAR HIM SING IT IN REAL LIFE, which will NEVER HAPPEN, so it means I'm going to be sad for the rest of my life.

Boo!

If I eventually get down to writing down all the songs I want him to sing, I might send it to him and if he's nice enough, he'd sing some - okay, a few - okay, one - of them during the Idols tour or whatever and someone will YouTube it and I can at least have one dream come true, even if it's not the ultimate dream. Does that make any sense? 'Cause it kind of makes perfect sense in my head.

***

In other news, I'm drowning in Legal Chinese and I want to die.

Can I aim for no exams at all next semester? Because I've grown so used to papers/take-home exams that having to study for this stupid Chinese exam is making me damn irritated. I HATE EXAMS AND I HATE STUDYING OMG PUT ME OUT OF MY MISERY.

***

I'm really going back to studying after this. But look, pretty picture!



Quite frankly I have no idea why they visited some Beatles thingy in LAS VEGAS when there's like an OMG IMPORTANT make-or-break show coming up and I'm quite ready to conclude that the Idol producers are sadistic fuckholes who treat their contestants like cattles, but oh well, they went, people took pictures, and now I get to tell the world that, again, I hate David's hair.

Wah lau what are you doing! What's your stylist doing? Why is your hair all spiked up in front? It's so 1990's.

And um, ArchuBot = Miniature David Cook.

Except Cookie is wayyyyyy hotter and ArchuBot is...not hot. At all.

And: Damned if David (Cook) doesn't look completely chic and smokin' hot in that outfit, despite the bad hair. Jeans of that colour totally suit him!

OKAY I HAVE TO STUDY.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010