US Open 2009 final EPIC FAIL. Roger lost. =(
written: 8:18 a.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 15, 2009

OH MY GOD ROGER IS LOSING.

ONE MORE GAME UNTIL HE LOSES HIS US OPEN.

FIVE SETS. FIVE FUCKING SETS, AND IT CAME DOWN TO HIM DROPPING SERVE IN HIS FIRST SERVICE GAME OF THE LAST SET.

OH MY GOD THIS IS NOT HAPPENING.

*

OH MY GOD LOST.

NO SIX IN A ROW.

OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD I CAN'T EVEN.

*

8.41 a.m.:

SIGH. Can't believe I stayed up all night for this.

But then again, it's just not possible for me to be asleep when Roger Federer's playing a match, especially a championship match.

I wish he'd won six in a row. I really wish he'd closed out the second set when he was serving at 5-4. I wish, too, that he didn't serve like a woman (11 double faults, apparently - the fuck?!), that his forehand didn't desert him after the first set, that things had gone better for him.

He didn't play like the Roger Federer that shows up in Grand Slam finals and wins them. And the most telling sign? His first serve fault in the very first service game of the match. His first serve was utterly woeful throughout - 44% in the second set (that he could've won rgsughusjghsjgh sjgsh@!!gh svjghsj), but more importantly, hardly ever showing up on crucial points. You know he's playing a subpar match when he's serving like crap, and you know he's playing below par when he's missing first serves on break points.

You also know he's just not there when he serves 11 fucking double faults in a match. Double fault in the fourth set tie-break - his first point of the tie-break. A double fault.

Shame, really. I have to wonder if there's anything wrong with his back after he squatted a few times. That'd explain the tragic serving (also tragic against Djokovic). But speculations and desperate excuses aside, the minute his serve deserts him, everything goes haywire.

Everything went haywire today. Pot raised his game; Roger didn't. Pot started off shaky, missing first serves and forehands, and Roger played like GodFed for a bit. But when Pot grabbed the momentum and stepped up his game, Roger just faded, like he couldn't do anything against Pot. Pot read his drop volleys, returned his drop volleys, and after a while, started to pass him at the net. What was Roger to do?

Would've helped if he could actually serve out the second set, but well.

Oh well. I wish it could've been six in a row.

At the same time, I'm happy for Pot. He deserves this win. He stepped up his game, he wasn't afraid of Roger, he wasn't afraid of the occasion, he hit his shots well, he served well, and in the end, he was the better player on the day. He deserves this victory. And I quite like him too, so that helps as well.

AT LEAST IT'S NOT ANOTHER GRAND SLAM LOSS TO NADAL.

AT LEAST IT'S NOT MURRAY. BWAHAHAHAHA ANDY MURRAY WHO?

OMG I'M SO HAPPY POT WON A GRAND SLAM BEFORE MURRAY DID. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MURRAY. WHAT? MUGRAY.

Anyway, I'm surprisingly not THAT devastated. Definitely sad for Roger (and for me. Was hoping to see him win the tournament I first saw him win D:), but this doesn't feel as utterly catastrophic as the Australian Open loss. The fact that he's already beaten the Sampras Record helps a lot.

Oh my god I really need to sleep. Been awake since like, 4.08 a.m. I slept two hours before that.

VERY TIRED. Hope Roger is happy despite the loss. He was gracious in defeat, and didn't cry this time thank goodness; if he'd cried I would've died.

Was amusing to see Roger ranting at the umpire over some issue with Hawkeye though. He said, "I don't give a shit what he said." HAHAHAHAHA. Oh, Roger. You will always hate Hawkeye, won't you?

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010