poetry fills all voids
written: 9:42 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 18, 2003

I had dinner with the relatives at this non-air-conditioned Chinese restaurant tonight. Yeah. Saw this reeeeally cute man. Um, 'cute man' sounds kinda weird, so let me cross that out. Rephrase. I saw a reeeeally handsome man.

Heh, heh, heh.

Obviously I have nothing better to do right now.

Hmm. I've been thinking about something. It's neither deep nor meaningful. Probably a little cruel.

There's this guy in my school, same year as me, also Arts stream. Kinda know him a little. Yeah. He seems like the frivolous type, that won't take a girl asking him out as something more than just wanting to have a nice time. He's pretty laid-back so yeah, I think it would be fun if we hung out a little, but with absolutely no strings attached.

I don't know, just kinda need to relax and live a little right now.

Oh shit, I forgot, I got the damn Chinese A Level exam in November. Well, maybe after that.

He's pretty cute. And he apparently writes English verses. I bet they all rhyme though. Guys who write English things usually rhyme them. And I'm not very fond of rhyming poetry.

Okay, there was something that I wanted to say. What the hell was it?

Oh yes. I went to town today, bought two poetry books. One by Allen Ginsberg (aka, to me, Jim Carroll's mate), and the other by e.e. cummings. Cummings fucking shocked and astounded me. I ain't kidding. I thought he was one of those bloody boring English farts that lived in the Victorian era or something but no, he epitomises the meaning of free form poetry. I bought his "95 Poems" and the very first poem, consisting of just four words, really, really amazed me. I was so bloody awestruck that I just knew I gotta have the book.

Ginsberg's poetry is a little strange but I was flipping through the book, "Death and Fame", I think, his last collection, and I came across this piece entitled "Gone Gone Gone", which is seriously intriguing stuff so I took it, walked away and didn't look back.

I also bought Charlotte Perkins Gilman's collection of fiction. I kinda need to read "Herland" for Literature Paper 4 and it's cheaper than the novel I saw at Kinokuniya and it has "The Yellow Wallpaper" so I just bought it.

Acutally, I should say that my mom bought all three books for me and they totalled to about S$71. She was quite reluctant about it but I think when she thought about the prospect of me winning the Angus Ross or whatever, the best A Level literature script out of the UK, she um, gave in.

Well, not like I'd win that but yeah, what the hell.

I seriously need to improve on my writing. My essay for my paper 8 exam, the unseen, was ultra shit. I don't seem to know any other words that express the same meaning as 'convey' besides 'convey'. It's tres pathetic.

You know, I think we should all swear a little sometimes. Really helps to relieve stress. The New Kid doesn't swear and that's probably why he's so serious about relationships.

I think the awkwardness between us is making me say all these untruthful shit about him. But I truly believe myself when I say, "There is no true love. Only true lust."

If only we can all believe in that as well.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010