back from the grave of useless computers
written: 7:52 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 16, 2003

An explanation for my absence: my prehistoric monitor exploded, I had a working CPU but no monitor for a few days, went to get a new monitor today and hence I'm back.

It's a Philips monitor, non-LCD. I wanted an LCD just because it looks cool but honestly, I couldn't care less as long as I have something to look at when I switch on the computer. Also, the colours are way brighter than my old crappy monitor, which made me realise that the grey background on this layout is a bit too bright. Right now though, I'm too lazy and tired to do anything about it.

My whole body is aching, and I mean that literally. Both arms, both calves, a bloody migraine lodged seemingly-permanently at the right side of my head, my back, my stomach, my ribs - everywhere.

I suppose it was stupid to play two hours of basketball after two months of not exercising, but there you go, that was what I did yesterday and I'm feeling the painful repercussions as we speak. And it was more frustrating than anything too, playing after so long. My shots were... crap. I think less than half of them made it through the rim. A lot bounched out or away, some flew right over (I like shooting from the sides), a few were airballs and I only had two consecutive baskets. That's pathetic.

But boy, was I glad to be playing again even though there were countless occassions when I wanted to shout 'fuck you' at the basketball. It felt really great, although my stamina gave out on me after ten minutes. I don't know, can't really put my finger on it, but suffice to say that I love the stupid sport and it's also quite a nice source of inspiration for mediocre poetry.

I wrote one while resting, and while my brother's precious Spalding was on loan to some guy who asked to borrow it. But right now I don't want to talk about the poem's muse, not until I've written about it in my own private diary, which is not online, so I'll just talk about the guy who borrowed my basketball.

So yeah, I thought he borrowed it from me 'cause the other kids were really into their game or whatever and I just left it on the court while I went to get a sip of water. But a while later, when I was resting again, he came over and attempted to talk to me.

Normally I would be friendlier than I was (I think), but it just so happened that my dad was there to pick me up, even though I didn't call him and I could've walked home by myself. And because my dad is totally anal retentive about guys and shit like that, I had to cut the conversation short, which was quite a shame, 'cause I wanted to ask him, "Tell me honestly, though. What exactly is your motive? You just making small talk or are you trying to ask for my number?"

I mean, he actually asked me if I'm on the school's basketball team. That is just crappy flattery, man. And a self-styled genius like me won't ever fall for such a line. It shows that he's either a complete doofus when it comes to basketball, or that he was genuinely trying to figure out why I was playing, although why can't a girl play basketball for fun is totally beyond me.

Oh well.

Anyway, went to catch "Hidden Track" on Thursday. Simply put, it's a piece of crap and although Jielun was sooooo cute during the last three minutes, the rest of the so-called movie wasn't worth it at all. Shawn Yu(e) is cute and all but damn, the stupid leading actress is such a pain. She went around telling everyone that she's just broken up with her boyfriend (SO FREAKING WHAT?) and frowning in a totally act-cute way, and actually running to track down the source of the song that she and her ex made love to, which happened to be a totally beautiful song penned by Jielun for the stupid movie that I mentioned before, and, I mean, how stupid is that? I wanted to cry, or I wanted to laugh, and I did the latter but throughout the painful eighty-seven minutes prior to Jielun's appearance at the end of the movie (and the press lied -- it didn't even last five minutes) I wanted to do exactly the former. I lost track of how many times I checked my watch and how many times I fidgeted.

Negativity aside, did I mention how cute Jielun/Jay was? His dyed hair makes him look like a total ah beng but still, it was so typically him that I was beyond charmed. Thus, if I ever decide to buy another ticket for that piece of crap, I would go into the cinema only during the last five minutes.

It's quite shameless and pathetic, I think, how they're using his name to sell the movie. I mean, under the 'short cuts' section of Lifestyle they put him as one of the main actors when he only appeared for three minutes tops and had less than ten lines. I understand that he's a great star and shit like that but please, talk about pathetic! In the cinema I sat beside this adult woman and she told me that she caught the stupid movie for Jielun, too.

I wonder who didn't watch it for him. I know I did. Duh.

Well. I need a social life. And my application for leading next year's orientation (bwahahaha) was accepted. Tomorrow, meeting at some lecture theatre in school at one p.m.

I still need a social life.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010