chinese new year shopping
written: 9:25 p.m. on Sunday, Dec. 28, 2003

What I should be doing right now: 1500-word history research paper on Aung San.

What I'm actually doing: Typing this entry. Obviously.

I'm eating watermelon and this particular one seems to have a lot of seeds. And since I'm too lazy to spit them out, I end up swallowing every single one, but before crunching them into tiny disgusting bits between my teeth. Kinda makes me not feel like eating it anymore. And this just reeks of unimportance.

Now, for the important stuff. Guess who went shopping for Chinese New Year clothes yesterday! Yes, me!

I know, Chinese New Year isn't until January twenty-something, but I do sincerely doubt that I'd have the time to go shopping for clothes when school starts, and now is a good time as ever (or whatever), apart from the fact that I still haven't started on much of my holiday homework despite them being due next Friday, but who cares, the genius can pull it off, somehow. Or maybe, more likely, she'll end up pulling out all of her hair, but let's just pretend that I'm smart enough to do it, all right?

Now, where was I? Right, shopping. My mom brought me to Tangs 'cause she has a twenty-dollar voucher there. I didn't think I'd buy anything from there, as past experiences dictate that the clothes there usually suck. How wrong was I though. I was at Seed, browsing through racks and racks of clothes, and because I had nothing better to do and since I was shopping, I decided to try on whatever catches my fancy, no matter how outrageous or tacky the piece of clothing is.

In the end I finished my new year clothes shopping in like, half an hour. I got all my clothes there: three tops, one pair of jeans and a nice pretty frilly semi-mini skirt that covers my butt and a good portion of my upper thighs. My favourite purchase is the jeans. There was only size L left so I took that, didn't expect it to fit as hipsters usually don't fit me, tried it on, and it was totally baggy. It was so loose and fantastic that I just HAD to get it.

It's really lovely, the jeans. Now I can wear that, go out for lunch and stuff my face and not have to worry about my pants becoming too tight and other nonsense.

Then again, I'm quite averse towards food as a whole so the chances of me ever stuffing my face are as good as naught.

(It's not an anorexia thing. I just don't have the kind of passionate relationship with food that most people seem to have. Eating makes me feel like throwing up after a while and apart from the three basic meals, I hardly ever get hungry. And when I am there's not much I can eat due to my strange diet so in the end I end up ceasing to care altogether. Besides, food ultimately turns to shit, and literally, so why bother?)

Anyway. I actually spelled 'navigate' as 'nagivate' when I was doing that little pic you see on the right-hand side, and didn't notice it at all until a few minutes ago. I guess it's really a case of mind over matter, for in my head I saw it as 'navigate', and this is far from being the first time such a thing has happened. There was this one time when my brother was telling me that "Yi Yi" (a Taiwanese film) was 173 minutes long. I heard it, even said "173 minutes ah?" but in my head I was envisioning 137 minutes, and thus I was about to say to my bro, "What the hell lah, only a little over two hours what." (He was telling me that the movie was about three hours long.)

Isn't that interesting. What you believe is right seems to wield greater power and influence over what is really right.

And if I were in the mood, I'd start waxing lyrical about how the above ties in with every day life and meddles with one's emotions and judgement but since I don't feel like doing it right, I shan't.

Oh, and yesterday I saw this FANTASTIC light blue New Balance backpack/bag/school bag/etc at Royal Sporting House. It's on discount right now, and it's only thirty bucks. Which means I have to get it. The blue is so pretty and it matches my Asics shoes perfectly.

I really should start writing the dreaded History paper.

(For those who aren't familiar with the Chinese culture: It's tradition to wear new clothes on Chinese New Year, which means I get a legitimate reason to buy clothes every year without my parents nagging the ear off me about wasting money once a year. Being Chinese really rocks.)

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010