literature fucking rules!
written: 6:38 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 26, 2004

I had the loveliest time in Literature class today. We're doing Silas Marner (George Eliot), Chapter... 13, I believe, which I haven't read as I'm still struggling through Chapter 11, but that's beside the point. My teacher is bloody fantastic, I tell you. He picked on the bit when Molly lies dead on the way to the Squire's house and Silas discovers Eppie, brings her to the doorstep of the Squire's house, and Godfrey refused to acknowledge her as his biological daughter while Silas became surprisingly possessive of her. His explanation for the contrasting reaction in the two men was sublime. It was something along the lines of how Eliot was providing a counter-view to the conventional idea of a "family", that blood isn't always thicker than water, that fatherly feelings towards a child can arise even in a man who isn't biologically related to that child, and sometimes, he can be a better father than the biological father of the child.

Of course, I can't phrase it quite the way he did, but the gist of it is there, somewhat. And it was so amazing, to me, because I find reading George Eliot an absolute chore, what with her sometimes mundane descriptions and the absolute inaccessibility of the language. And what he said in class today opened my mind up to possibilites that perhaps I could discern such things for myself and find meaning in the text, instead of seeing it as just another fucking irritating Victorian shit that I have to read in order to ace Literature.

So I was sitting in class, listening with raptured attention to my amazing teacher, and thinking, "Oh my GOD, this shit is fucking amazing!" Despite Eliot's annoying moralistic inclinations, she is pretty interesting...

Well, obviously, or her novels wouldn't last for so long. But I didn't see it this way before, you see. I found her absolutely dry and dull and boring but now, I have changed my opinion and I'm going to finish the book by the end of this week, latest.

Okay, maybe not, as I doubt I'd have the time, but I really have to read as I'm two chapters behind and I hate not being able to answer his questions in class. If it were some other subject I wouldn't care, but Literature is the reason I haven't quit school already. I love it more than anything else right now, seriously, even more than Jay Chou. And that is really something as when I'm obsessive over a singer/actor/etc, I'm really obsessive. So, yeah.

Moving on now as I'm about to have dinner real soon. PE worn me out totally and completely. But talking about sometihng as dreadful and retarded and redundant as that is an absolute waste of my time, so I shan't expound upon that, for quel est le point?

Well, that's about it, pretty much. Another mundane day. Oh yeah, I cut Chinese today. Last two periods. Didn't feel like going. Intended to come home and study for Econs but ended up reading some Jay Chou interview in a magazine that I coerced my mom into buying for me. Heh, he looks damn diao though.

("Diao" is a Taiwanese slang that means 'cool'. Literally, it refers to the penis. It is one of Jielun's more commonly-used phrases, kind of like me and my 'wah lau' and 'fuck lah'.)

My teeth hurt. That is bad.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010