more boring school talk.
written: 6:38 p.m. on Friday, Jul. 30, 2004

I saw Mrs R., my civics tutor/GP tutor/Prac Crit tutor of last year, in the canteen during the self-imposed break between Lit and Maths. I remembered that one of my classmates told me that she wanted to talk to me, so I asked her what it was about.

I mean, I knew that it was about my A Levels and shit like that but she was damn straightforward, like, "Deliver the valediction next year!"

Oh god. I would so love to do that but I don't know. To be over-confident is to be over-confident, hence to be over-confident would be jinxing whatever miniscule chance I might have of really getting straight As.

I don't know. My biggest headache right now is definitely Maths. I can't connect with it, however hard I try. Even Econs is preferable... then again, I think Econs is preferable to even History.

I think it would take a miracle for me to fully understand Maths, let alone get an A.

Argh. Fuck it. This is no time for self-doubt, especially since I'm one of those people who thrive best under conditions in which I believe that I'm a genius and other ego-boosting thingies along those lines. Yes, my ego has suffered many beatings, as has my level of self-confidence, but nobody said anything about being defeated.

Yeah, well. It's do or die. And I'm choosing the former.

*****

Decent/lovely day today. Managed to complete the weekly Econs test thing, even though I only had like 3 points and my first page was irrelevant to the question, a thing I realised only after I've finished explaining the causes of demand-pull inflation when the question focused on how the US lowered interest rates to prevent negative inflation.

I guess I should have thought harder before I wrote but it was crucial that I did it because I would be demoralised otherwise, so yeah, I'm allowing myself to be stupid this time. I think I'd get a pass-on-the-dot at best for it but it's okay. We all have to start somewhere.

And I've finally been convinced that I should conform to the rigid marking rubric of General Pointlessness, if that is the only way in which I can go about securing my well-deserved A1 for the eternally-asinine subject.

What that entails: Me writing concluding statements.

Ha, ha, ha, ha ha bloody ha. If he weren't the one who told me to do it I think I would not even listen, let alone buy it.

Well, I gotta go for dinner. I forsee that future entries will revolve around school, for it is the only thing that means something in my life right now, because the A Levels, sadly, determines my bloody future, so whatever lah, bear with it or piss off.

I've been succumbing to Singlish a bit too much lately. That is bad. Time to start scouring the newspaper like a religious fanatic.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010