you will never get me.
written: 9:32 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 14, 2005

I've been reading random blogs these few days due to the sheer boredom that is my life, and sad to say, I came across something quite filthy, enough to make me rant about it here.

This guy is some Year 1 kid in Jurong Junior. Before his latest post, he sounded okay. Writing's painfully grammatically-incorrect, but fine; I didn't care all that much anyway, although it did grate on my nerves, and reading about his mass lectures thingy reminded me of my own first-three-months day.

And then he just had to spoil it all by adding his latest entry. The following got me very irritated and disgusted:

"Hopefully the whole lot of OG members would accept my invitation down to COS BT this saturday and the whole lot of us (INCLUDING THE OGL'S) would experience God and be saved..."

(And no, I'm not referring to the wrong and thus sinful usage of the ellipsis, and neither am I referring to the incorrect usage of the apostrophe s.)

Before that, he was going off about how he wanted his poor, unsuspecting OG members to go down and find out what this Saturday Night Live thingy is for themselves.

Which is basically the most disgusting, devious and manipulative thing I've come across all week. It's precisely this irritating arrogance that many Christians have that makes Christianity my least favourite religion of all time. Don't be so presumptuous, okay? If you want to spread your religion, be honest about it, and be open-minded about it. The worst line a Christian can ever pull on a non-Christian is this: "If you don't convert to my religion, you'll go to hell."

And they say 'will' too, instead of 'would', as if it's definite. Right. My response? "Cool. I'll take my chances then." And 'will' too, because it is definite as well.

If someone tried to pull that kind of stunt on me, I'd just flip. Not only is it utterly disrespectful, it also shows an abject and gross lack of sensitivity for other people's beliefs on that person's part. The last I checked, Singapore was a secular country, which means that, in case we've forgotten, everyone is (theoretically) free to believe in their own doctrines and religions. What right does an arrogant Christian have to presume that his religion is more "right" than another person's, and that another person's faith is not as strong as his, such that one pathetic prayer session or whatever the hell it is will automatically convert that person of another faith?

I don't deliberately target Christians to attack; I'm merely left with no other options by this silly kid. You just don't force a religion down people's throat like that; it's just wrong. I wonder how that kid would feel if someone mysteriously led him into a Taoist temple or something along those lines.

I think people should be smarter than that, but I guess some people just can't help but be absolutely stupid and irritating. See things from other people's perspectives for once; Christianity is far from being the only religion in the world. You can argue all you want about how such actions are born purely out of good intentions, but I think if you're 17 and in junior college, you should be smart enough not to pull stupid stunts like that. It's about religious toleration and moderation. If you go to that person and that person is not interested; leave him alone. If he comes to you to find out more, preach all you want. But one thing you should never do is to mislead others and fool them into going for something which they might not remotely appreciate. Contrary to what that kid seems to believe, the end does not justify the means; but since he's a Science stream student, I bet he's never heard of that.

And people should never try to spread a religion in schools, especially teachers. It completely undermines the secular values of Singapore's education system.

I should probably include a disclaimer about how I'm not anti-Christianity but frankly, I can't be fucking bothered. If truth be told, my tolerance for the religion is severely wearing thin, and posts like that by the Jurong Junior kid don't help matters at all.

So I still find it freaking hilarious that I still like and think about this person whom I've liked for nearly the whole of last year. Christians don't get any more devout and down-on-my-knees religious than him, really; in his own words, he's a "super Christian". And he knows that I'm a super atheist. It would be interesting if he tries to convert me...yep, would definitely like to see him try. I'd probably placate him though, just so I could see more of him, but then again, I don't think I'm that stupid.

At least, I hope not. When it comes to him, I'm completely irrational.

Okay, fine, I'll do the freaking disclaimer. I don't hate Christians, I don't hate the religion, it's only certain individuals who do stupid things that annoy me. Even if I had the chance to obliterate the religion from the face of the earth, I'd choose not to as it's just plain rude and wrong. You don't force people to give up a religion in which they're completely immersed, just like you don't force people to pick up one which they totally do not remotely believe in.

So I'll resort to an asinine cliche: Live and let live, and all that good stuff.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010