bad entry.
written: 4:52 p.m. on Monday, Apr. 18, 2005

Firstly, the new layout isn't compatible with Firefox again. Why? Why? Why? I can't figure it out. Oh well, at least you can read the text on Firefox this time; the previous layout had its textbox disappearing to who-the-hell-knew-where when I tried to view it on Firefox. Bleah.

Secondly, my language toolbar is going crazy. I had to restart my laptop twice today before I could use it; the toolbar was on the left of the taskbar and for some reason, IE did not appear on the taskbar when I opened it. To make things worse, when I closed the language toolbar, the damn taskbar disappeared into thin air as well. What the hell. A reformat is so crucial I think, but then, another problem presents itself: I have no idea how to reformat. Hahahahaha.

Thirdly, I still have not received the stupid Law letter and right now I'm panicking because I sincerely believe that I'd be school-less come July. What in the world has the world come to? This is such a nightmare. I shouldn't have put all my eggs in one basket and applied only to NUS. I'm so stupid but argh, I couldn't be arsed about NTU and SMU and I still can't be arsed! Have I ever mentioned that my life will be irrevocably and irretrievably and irreversibly over if I don't get into Law? But how can I not get into Law with AAA A1?

Oh yeah, I forgot, I put it as my second choice. Shit. I think I should've just left the third space blank, you know, so that they'd have to chuck me into Law after I'm rejected by my first choice; but since the third space was FASS, now they'd have somewhere to throw me into after Law rejects me.

Fuck this. I hate my life.

Am I worrying too much? I hope I am. I mean, I'm only 18; I don't want my life to end yet. I mean, I do want it to end before I hit 50 but that's many years from now and I okay I'm beginning to ramble so uh yes I wanna watch a show.

Speaking of watching shows, I just remembered that I do have things to write about. So last night I caught When Beckham Met Owen at the film fest with Mel and Khai. It's a Hong Kong film about, in a nutshell, homosexuality.

What can I say? I have a thing for homo content. Ha, ha. Anyway, the homo content was rather subtle as it deals with two young kids - I think they were like, 12, 13 - named David and Michael (duh) and Michael's strange feelings towards his friend David. It was cute and funny but overall, I think the director got somewhat distracted towards the end. Khai used the word 'patchy' to describe it and I couldn't agree more. There was this weird subplot involving the discipline mistress that I didn't really understand because it came too soon and ended too quickly and it wasn't very well fleshed out, probably due to time constraints...but then again, the film was only 80 minutes long - far from LOTR's epic-sized proportions, you know what I'm saying?

The film's image quality also looked pretty awful, in the sense that it looked like the kind of image received on a TV set that's on the verge of breaking down. I don't know if it's just SHM being lousy or if it's deliberate, but the first five minutes gave me a pounding headache all the same, what with the techno shit and all. Interestingly, the techno crap gave way to nice, gorgeous piano music in the background as the film progressed - wonder what that had got to do with anything.

Also, the film's subtitles were crap. Grammatical errors, spelling errors, bad punctuation, and some lines weren't even subtitled. The characters were reading a Chinese poem out loud and the subtitles intelligently informed the audience that they were reading a Chinese poem out loud. Like, duh. Anyone with ears and the ability to hear would be able to discern that for himself, for chrissakes. This is just so typically Singapore, if you ask me. Everything we do is subpar at best and you know what? I really don't understand why. After all that shit about wanting to transform Singapore into a centre for the arts, we still can't subtitle our films in proper, correct English, so why do we bother talking so much cock? And I still maintain that the Esplanade is a huge crappy waste of money, so there.

All things considered though, last night was fun. The three of us stormed into the LT5-like SHM (Singapore History Museum, not that it was much of one considerings its puny size) auditorium in crazy fits of laughter, and we doubled over even more when Mel asked me for our seat numbers and I was like, I don't know! The tickets are with Khai!, who was leading us up the stairs and when she heard me she was like, Huh? Oh yeah!

I don't know why I found that so funny but I did and I was laughing all the way to my seat. I think we came across as huge bimboes but hell, who gives the slightest bejesus what others think.

So it was fun and dinner was good and I want to play Zuma now so have a nice day.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010