yeah...yeah.
written: 10:23 p.m. on Tuesday, Apr. 26, 2005

Anyone saw the Taiwanese news? The riot at the airport? Oh my god. I probably should not have watched it since I can't even stomach the mildest of all on-screen violence (ie. fake ones) nowadays but curiosity got the better of me and...it really got the better of me. This is quite shameful and potentially hypocritical but it was a mixture of disgust and fascination, not pure disgust, that I felt. Like, I don't know, I could've walked away anytime I wanted but I stayed on watching until the news bulletin was over.

It was so uncensored. One man laid flat on his back on the ground, his arms held up in self-protection, while a group of people kicked at him relentlessly, and I'm not even sure if the group of people were certain that the man was of a different political affiliation. I think it was majorly stupid, really. So Lien Chan is going to China for a series of peace talks - big deal. He's going to achieve more in terms of easing cross-strait tensions than the rioters can ever dream of attaining, for crying out loud.

Taiwanese politics is sometimes melodrama. What other word is there to describe a footage aired on the news of members of a Taipei pan-Blue secret society giving their KMT counterparts a hand in the riot by attacking the pan-Green camp? I don't know what's going on over there and it's sad because I can already see all of it culminating in a cross-strait war where Chinese people kill each other and Taiwan loses and China wins by dividing and conquering. People of the same race should not kill each other; people who share the same quasi-nationality should not hurt each other en masse. In fact, people should neither hurt nor kill each other, period. Right?

The good thing about cable is that you get to watch things that you'd never ever get to see on Singapore TV. Honestly, the day that Channel 5 or Channel 8 or whatever news airs footages like that of the airport riot is the day that the world ends. Yes, Taiwanese media is extremely sensational, but it definitely beats the monotonous style of reporting of the Singapore media. Of course, you can always argue that Taiwanese-style freedom of the press means an inevitable compromising of quality, but I'd just point out that regulation does not exactly promise quality either, as can be attested to by our local media. Look at The New Paper - what a bunch of crap that's not even worthy of wiping my arse with. The Straits Times - it's extremely hilarious that whenever I bother to read it, I cringe at the hideously mediocre writing and the unabashed grammatical errors that sometimes are too obvious to be typos. The worst part? It's annoyingly pro-government.

Give me a break before I die.

Anyway. The Law interview on Friday is quite a headache and I haven't started on the essay which I'm supposed to write that came with the letter because I have no idea what to say. Can the question be any more vague? "Please type (or write) a brief account of yourself and your reasons for wanting to read Law at NUS." A brief account of myself? Like what, I was born in Singapore (unfortunately) in 1986, I spent half my childhood in Taipei, I moved back to Singapore when I was 7, I went to CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls' School and Jurong Junior College, thank you and good night?!?!

Fuck man. I can't talk about myself unless it's something specific, you know? I don't even know what to write in the 'other activities/hobbies' box, for the love of my sanity! I'm so afraid that I'd screw up the interview because if I don't get into Law, my life is effectively over. I hope I'd get an ang moh though; I think ang mohs are generally easier to impress than Singaporeans. I mean, just look at Cambridge's GCE A Level examination; the stupidest, least Lit-inclined people actually got A's for Lit while I was the highest for the prelim with a bloody B. Get my drift?

(Apparently, according to Mel, she and I had A's for all three Lit papers so that's pretty cool.)

My mom went shopping with me yesterday for clothes to wear to the interview, since my closet is choked with sleeveless tops and short skirts. We chose a bunch of stuff from Esprit and in the end we only bought a skirt and a top. God, the skirt is long; it covers my knees! Jeez. I seriously doubt I'd ever wear it again after the interview; ha! Or maybe I could wear it to my grandad's birthday dinner thingy in Taipei...but then again, I don't really like wearing long skirts and there are cute waiters to impress in Taipei so maybe not.

So I'm gonna attempt to get started on that Law essay shit after I'm done watching Samurai Champloo tonight, which is a freaking awesome anime which I love with all my heart. It's about these 3 people, two samurai and a girl, who embark on a journey together after a chance meeting to search for a 'samurai that smells of sunflower'; the two guys agreed to the girl's request after the girl saved their lives. It's a long story, obviously, but what I really like about it is, apart from the fact that the two males are hot, how it's a mix of everything and how it has absolutely no regard for history. I mean, there are some historical facts thrown into the mix but last night I was watching an episode about baseball in an anime that's set in the Edo period, if I'm not mistaken. I mean, Mugen, one of the two guys, wears bermudas, for crying out loud. I love it. I can't decide who I like better though, Mugen or Jin. I mean, they're both super hot but in drastically different ways. Like, Mugen is rogueishly hot while Jin is enigmatically hot, you know? Oh, and the way Jin dodged bullets in one episode was so hot. And Mugen's angsty past was so hot too.

Right, I'm a bimbo so shoot me. I seriously suspect that Jin's seiyuu (sp? It means voice actor anyway) is the same as Rukawa's though; the thing they have in common is how their lines are delivered in an extremely flat, monotonous and deadpan manner, although I must say that Rukawa is slightly worse than Jin. I don't know, they kind of sound alike but sometimes Jin's voice sounds a bit deeper than Rukawa's and sometimes it doesn't. I don't think this is making sense.

Anyway, I love love love Samurai Champloo and I dread dread dread the Law interview and I loathe loathe loathe the insanely hot Singaporean weather so good night.

Oh, and one more thing: someone is using my kiddy Jielun layout. What in the fucking world. Thanks for the compliment and all but the reason I even bother to make my own layouts is because I hate the idea of someone having the exact same look as me. I think it's high time that I disabled right-click. Ugh.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010