another shitty entry.
written: 6:17 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2005

You know how sometimes when you wake up in the morning and go to school for a lecture and you come out of the lecture theatre and mill around the Forum Bookstore with your mom looking at laptops, things somehow magically fix themselves and everything is okay again? It's kind of like waking up in the morning and whatever rubbish that bogged you down the day before simply disappear, snap and everything's okay, doesn't quite matter who holds the magic wand.

Today's one of those days. And it's so ironic if we consider the fact that I was just thinking bitterly to myself last night about how you want things to be okay and for the shit to be washed away but it's not like you'd wake up one morning and everything would be pretty again, yadayadayada.

It's nice to prove myself wrong sometimes.

I felt so un-crap today that I actually - GASP - attempted to organise my Tort notes. That's, like, soooooo amazing!!!!!111!1 I'm too cheapskate and lazy to buy notebooks so I take down notes in lectures on the back of Lit/History/otherassortedALevelsubjects notes that I've already designated as printing paper for non-assignments. As a result, my notes are everywhere, one piece on Contract on the table, another piece on Tort on the floor, some under my bed, you get the picture.

The downside is, I was operating on battery power and hence I used that as an excuse to stop the organising at Week Two Negligence and come online instead. The truth is, though, that I was too lazy to go on as it was putting me close to sleep.

I don't know if it's a JC thing and the habit we had of drinking coffee at the rooftop cafe and on nights before exams to keep ourselves awake and shit like that but HELL for some reason or other I'm almost completely immuned to caffeine. WHY IS THAT SO? I drink coffee (two bottles of Starbucks) and I feel like sleeping. I drink tea at night (TWELVE MIDNIGHT!) and I fall asleep an hour later. Maybe caffeine does nothing but mess with your biological system...or something.

Who cares anyway.

I brought my beloved laptop to school today and lugging it there almost broke off my right arm. I had to resort to hugging it to make it lighter on the arms. And I swear, my laptop was, like, the biggest one in the entire lecture theatre. It felt damn weird and I didn't even know how to connect to NUS's wireless network! Rui had to tell me that I had to sign in somewhere or something. Then in the midst of SLS lecture I formed this super intelligent idea of exploiting the fast Internet speed and download songs. Like, BRILLIANT, SELF! So I opened Ares, searched for Pink Floyd's Another Brick in the Wall Part One, got a bunch of hits, randomly selected a download and then switched back to Microsoft Word and proceeded to listen attentively to Prof. B. Five seconds later I decided to check on my download...and guess what? IT DIDN'T EVEN START. I waited a while longer and checked again and it started at a speed of 0.0000whatever/s. Ugh.

Repeat the process twice and you get a frustrated Yelen who cannot download Pink Floyd's Another Brick in the Wall Part One. Hence she uninstalled Ares and vowed to stick to LimeWire.

Having a laptop in lectures is cool because typing down notes is a lot faster than writing stuff down with my hand. Of course, my mildly perfectionist streak makes me hit 'backspace' whenever I make a typo to correct said typo which causes me to miss out on 5% of the words in a single sentence that comes out of Prof. B's learned mouth (okay that just sounded horribly sycophantic and sick) and 5% is quite a bit, especially if the words that constitute the 5% are determinative ones. Example, something about Singapore's Constitution and governance and whatever, Rui and I were staring at each other trying to fill in the blank; in the end I had to make do with "Constitution????????" quote unquote.

Rui and I were also conducting a mini discourse via MSN. Yes. And we are arranged to sit next to each other. HAHAHAHA. Was fun, indeed.

Anyway my mom went to the co-op with me to look at the laptops and she wanted me to buy a Fujitsu because it's very light at 1.75 kilograms or thereabout, but unfortunately I'm so used to my beloved Acer that I can't part from it, even if the TravelMate 3212insertrandomlettershere weights about 2.38 kg and I think it will weigh even more after I upgrade the specs. I know, I'm being ridiculous but I LOVE ACER! I LOVE ACER! I LOVE ACER! I WANT THE FERARRI LAPTOP! I LOVE ACER!

Have I ever mentioned that I LOVE ACER! ?

ACER ROCKS!

(AndhalfofithasprobablygotsomethingtodowithitsTaiwaneseroots.)

Um, this entry is very boring. But I didn't do anything much today anyway so there you go.

The mosquito nest I mentioned yesterday is severely bothering me. I itch like mad whenever I sit at my table and tinker away at the laptop. The area below the knee cap gets it particularly bad but I don't see anything flying around and it's annoying as crap. Okay I doubt they're mosquitoes but mosquitoes are the accepted paradigm of blood-sucking insects that make you itch so just make do with that lousy image, thank you.

That didn't make sense.

I read Tony Harrison's poetry instead of SLS stuff last night. He rhymes a lot. He rhymes well. But I was thinking that the problem with poetry that rhymes is that it gets predictable. I don't know about anyone else, but I like poetry that catches you unaware and throws you off-balance and the unpredictability of free-verse poetry.

Having said that, I love how scathingly sarcastic his anti-Iraq war piece was. Such direct attacks on Tony Blair, so delectable and delicious. But the larger picture was still the unnecessary and unwanted sufferings that innocent civilians endure, their plight, and his sympathy (maybe empathy?) towards them, very nicely captured in succinct and vivid four-verse stanzas.

I love poetry to bits and pieces.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010