smile like you mean it.
written: 5:56 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 13, 2005

"Dear [Yelen]

24th College Day, 2005

We are pleased to inform you that you will be presented with the College Day Award for the OUTSTANDING ACADEMIC PERFORMANCE & BEST PERFORMANCE IN ENGLISH, HISTORY AND GENERAL PAPER IN JC 2 (2004) at our College Day.

...

Please check that your name printed at the attached acknolwedgement slip is correctly spelt and is the same as that given in your bank account.

As this is a formal occasion, please be in appropriate attire for the ceremony."

(Just to safeguard myself from potential allegations that I'm showing off, whatever I emboldened and capitalised above are really emboldened and capitalised in the letter itself.)

Is it just me or does "for the Outstanding blah blah" part sound a bit funny? I think "the" is kind of redundant in that sentence. People tend to insert the word "the" in the weirdest and most awkward of places.

What I'm thinking right now: I've ceased to believe in my own myth a long time ago; this should've came earlier so that I could've been under the delusion that I had the prerogative to be cocky about it; in other words this should've came before Law School and its Annihilation of Yelen's Pride; I hope the bank account mention means that I'd be getting some money for I sure as hell need money; what the hell am I gonna wear?; and, above all else, I did better.

If the last three words in italics don't make sense, just forget about it. The obvious is also not what it means; I'm not sticking my middle finger in the faces of my fellow schoolmates or whatever. It's quite something else entirely.

It doesn't matter.

I went to KBox again today, this time with Janice and Siming. Too much of a good thing quickly causes that good thing to deteriorate into something less than what it should be, "the sweetest things turn sourest by their deeds/lilies that fester smell far worse than weeds" (W. Shakespeare) and everything. Siming proclaimed that he's tone deaf and so kudos to him for singing. Janice is the subject of my envy for being able to hit super high notes that would have me croaking unglam-ly and embarrassingly if I were to even attempt.

Yesterday was more fun though.

I'm sick of doing my Torts tutorial. Defences sucks. Remoteness sucks. I'm going to watch Gilmore Girls now.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010