have i mentioned yet that i'm bad with titles?
written: 6:18 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 16, 2005

My menstrual cramps are killing me. What a way to start off an entry!

Stupid bloody personal essay. Stupid bloody 500 word personal essay. My mind is a total blank and I'm running out of time and once again my bad procrastinating habit has come back and bite me hard in the ass.

I'm watching Veronica Mars Season 1 for the fifth time.

To the person whose name I cannot bring myself to utter: Do me a favour. Please die. Even better: Just disappear and erase all evidence that you ever existed.

You know, one of these days, I'm gonna write a screenplay just for kicks. It would be fun and utterly useless, but fun nonetheless. I just finished Oscar Wilde's A Picture of Dorian Gray and I have to say that the ending is probably the best ending ever, which I'm going to give away in the next few sentences so stop reading if you don't want to be spoiled.

He stabbed the portrait and he ended up destroying himself. There's so much to be read into this: 1) The sin is in himself and the portrait is a red herring and so by wanting to destroy the portrait he's avoiding the issue of cleansing himself and this also says something about art imitating life and society's perennial knee-jerk reaction of blaming art that portrays life in all its darkness and corruption for "sending out the wrong message" when really such works of art merely hold up a mirror which reflects what society doesn't want to see, refer to Philip Kaufman's Quills and its anti-censorship message as well; 2) The portrait represents the corruption and filth of his soul and its decadence runs in direct contrast to the flawless beauty of his face, and the portrait is kept hidden under lock and key in a room to which outsiders have no access, and he appears to be pristine but there's your catch right there, it's an appearance and nothing more, and so this is an indictment of society's - you guessed it - perennial fixation with wealth and status, and I'm going to overmilk it because I can, and so stabbing the portrait which eventually transferred its ugliness onto its rightful owner which is of course Dorian's face is...

Well, this is a little embarrassing. I forgot what I was going to say. Random net surfing in the middle of an entry? Never again.

My point is clear, I'm sure. Oscar Wilde rules the world. Dorian may be the principal/principle character but boy, do I adore Lord Henry or what! He's a bit of a cardboard cut-out and kind of one-dimensional and I even suspect he's kind of a mouthpiece for Wilde's own cynicism; even so, he has the best lines in the novel and when he's not in a certain chapter the pacing slackens a bit. Wilde writes amazing dialogue, snappy and fast and dripping with witty sarcasm and sarcastifc wit, which comes as no surprise considering he's primarily a playwright, secondarily a poet (yeah good word, I know) and tertiarily (an even better word) a novelist. So, Lord Henry rocks my boat. His exchanges with his female cousin whose name I don't remember towards the end of the novel are absolutely brilliant.

I always get my tenses mixed up when briefly describing scenes in movies and television shows and novels but well what's to be done about that.

I watched Saved! and I gotta say: It was actually kind of boring and not really funny. The whole "love at first sight" thing? Totally overdone. Besides, the dude isn't even remotely cute, and Jena Malone is kind of weird. Her voiceovers in the film just didn't feel right and you could so totally tell she was reading from a script. Also, the point was obvious: freaky Christians are really freaky, hypocritical Christians never realise how hypocritical they are, and the whole evangelist thing was embodied by Mandy Moore's freaky and hypocritical Christian character Hilary Faye which is not a good thing. Watch the movie and you'll see what I mean.

I liked the romantic angle between that Home Alone kid's wheelchair-bound character and the rebellious Jewish student though. It actually kind of sweet. Still, I hated the cliche in the end that I could see coming from miles away, what with Hilary Faye getting her brief moment of redemption and Rebellious Jewish Chick putting aside all the times she and HF slagged each other off and helping her, blah blah blah. I get it, Rebellious Jewish Chick is the real heroine and HF isn't entirely a villain and maybe the latter is even due to politically-correct reasons; whatever it is, it was dumb. Period.

Annnnnd that's about it.

Okay, so I'm supposed to wait until January 18, 19 SGT, for a new episode of Veronica Mars, and I'm absolutely dying here. A week into the stupid hiatus and already I'm wanting to kill whoever started this thing. Needless to say I don't know what the hell "sweeps" means, except Torture. Insert random swear words here.

Yesterday I was at NYDC Suntec with Mel and Tubby and it was fun. Mel and I hung out after that and it was fun. Fun fun fun. Major love and absence of papercuts.

I hate getting the period. Fucking horrible menstrual cramps. Kill me now, anyone.

Regarding [email protected], I received two emails from "Logan" and yes I'm happy. I know it's just an automated reply but still, it's Logan! Logan! Logan! He looks so cute in my layout pic. I love him to death.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010