ignore this entry. please.
written: 11:39 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 20, 2006

What I did in Company Law lecture:

1. Went to Yahoo! News Taiwan;

2. Went to The New York Times and read the articles about the Pope's comment about Islam (for the record, I think it was taken out of context);

3. Went to check out Jay McCarroll's collection for Olympus Fashion Week;

4. Went to read things about Project Runway;

5. In short, went out of my way not to pay attention.

This is SO BAD because I have NO CLUE what is going on and I am not motivated at all to care. The Company test that's looming around the corner only serves to make things doubly worse, and I already know the kind of shit non-grade I'd get at the end of everything. I hardly talk in class; in fact, I've spoken on a grand total of 2 occasions (I suddenly forgot how to spell). This is in sharp contrast to my attitude towards Property tutorial, which can be summed up with, Try to speak lor. The tutor is nice what. And he doesn't call on people also so it's less stress.

(In English: I try to speak in Property class because I like my tutor. It's also a lot less stressful because he doesn't call on people.)

(And yes, I know the Singlish was quite badly done.)

(Especially the last sentence, which is so deliberate that it's obvious that it's deliberate.)

I hate Company. I need a bullet through my head.

And the worst part? I haven't done any real work ever since last Friday. I was supposed to read my Property stuff but I spent my evening reading news articles on Google news. What is wrong with me? I suppose the good news is, I know that Abe Whatever or Whatever Abe is the new Japanese Prime Minister which could potentially mean bad news for the rest of the world; the people in Budapest are calling for the PM (I think?) to vacate himself from office and some 1000 retarded, brainless and uncivilised football hooligans disrupted the peaceful protest by setting police cars on fire and throwing rocks at shop windows and all that great stuff that only stupid, brainless and uncivilised people can do; and I don't really remember the rest of it.

This week is my most unproductive yet - that is, if we're only considering Year 2 thus far. This has got to stop. And I need to bring my keys so that I can get my Property assignment out of the mailbox. I'm actually kind of looking forward to doing it, 'cause it's like a nice 3000-word essay and I love essays.

Okay, I hate law school essays but I'm so parched for writing, any writing, that I'd take whatever I can get like a hungry dog on the brink of starvation. I seriously need to contribute things to the LitSoc magazine or I will lose my mind. Writing shitty entries in this shitty online diary obviously doesn't help matters 'cause my writing here is undisciplined, sporadic and utterly incoherent. I'm pathetic. I deserve to be stuck in this country for the rest of my life.

Lastly, we watched Z in CLT today and I loved it. The fights between the two polarised groups of people totally reminded me of the news footages of the fighting in south Taiwan that I watched on TV. There was also this part in the beginning where one of the members of the opposition party tried to get a permit to use a hall for the party's rally and the police chief or whatever he was denied the application, and the opposition guy - a lawyer - pointed out that the hall has been used before, and just recently, too. The police chief dude was all, Yeah, but you can't use it now! There are no emergency exits, and your event is highly dangerous. What if the speeches made incite passion in the listener?

Blah blah blah. I'm obviously paraphrasing but that's the gist of it. I'm sure it's not just me who was reminded of this country during that scene.

Also? I was quite surprised (euphemism for 'appalled') by the reaction in the LT when it was subtly revealed that one of the characters was gay, and that he and this other character had some sort of relationship going on. There was this hilarious-as-hell collective cry of surprise, like homosexuality is even a big deal, like they had no idea that it existed. Sometimes I find it hard to believe that I'm in law school and not some junior college.

I also found the Photojournalist very handsome. He would've looked better without the moustache, but even with the moustache my first thought was "Jared Padalecki!" (I still can't spell his name; that was my most valiant attempt) when he first appeared. The way he was blatantly flirting with the hospital receptionist to get info out of her was so wrong, so shameless, and so oddly sexy. I think I'm crazy. It's the sexual frustration talking.

Also, the other lawyer of the opposition party, the hot-headed dude, was SO HOT. He reminded me of a cross between Joaquin Phoenix and, like, Jude Law. Actually, the guy who was assassinated was also very handsome (apparently the actor was very popular in France), as is the lawyer who tried to get the permit thingy. This film was full of eye candy and that made me happy.

I know I should've commented on the serious aspects of the film, but I'm not quite in the mood. And if I get started I'd never stop, and I still have to read my Property stuff, so I think it's best for everyone that I go on about how handsome the actors are (were) because there's only so much I can say on that subject before I disgust myself with my disgusting bimbotic-ness and superficiality.

I came back and looked up the actor who played the Photojournalist and saw two pictures of this old man on imdb.com. Well, he made the film (he co-produced it, besides acting in it) when he was 27 so I guess all's not lost.

I'm not making sense. Time to read Tan SY.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010