Paper rant. (Edit: And other assorted ramblings.)
written: 4:59 p.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2008

Fuck. Can't write introduction.

Fuck. I have a day and a half to do this 4000-6000 words-long, excluding footnotes, research paper.

Fuck. I want a bullet through my head.

***

This was supposed to be a much more victorious announcement but I forgot to write about it yesterday and now I'm just way too irritated with myself and with the paper to convey it in a bubbly, self-congratulatory and upbeat manner.

But since it's a huge tiny accomplishment, I must say it anyway, even if it's in an entry entitled 'Paper rant'.

So yesterday I went to West Mall to buy video tapes that don't exist anymore, right? I didn't want to park in the basement car park because I don't like driving up and down ramps, so I turned into to open-air car park when I spotted some empty lots.

I turned into the car park even when the only empty lots were parallel lots.

I decided, Screw this, no car behind, might as well try to parallel park.

And so I did.

And so I did.

I FUCKING PARALLEL PARKED. And I only needed to make one adjustment. AND MY CAR WAS DAMN STRAIGHT.

I rule the fucking planet.

Now, if only I can pull off a C-grade research assignment in a day and a half...should be interesting.

But I want to freaking watch tennis, bloody hell. I hate school.

***

ETA at 6.37 p.m.:

Wah lau they're not showing the Tsonga/Spanish Dude match and are showing some Asian don't know what football qualifiers. Bleah. Thank goodness for live scores.

Tsonga lost the first, bagged the second, and now both players are on serve in the third.

TSONGA WIN PLEASE! The Spanish dude annoyed the shit out of me when I watched him play yesterday and I don't want to watch him play against Roger. I wanna watch a Tsonga/Federer match-up!

Speaking of Federer, bloody hell, I'm so worried for his match tonight. I can't stand the thought of him losing to someone as lame as Stepanek so he has to win!

I swear, after I submit my paper on Friday, I'm going to reward myself with one whole day of nothing but Roger Federer matches. I'm so sick of this shit.

And speaking of my paper, I have written 159 words! That's 159 words more than 0, so go me!

At times like these, I can't decide if I'm being sarcastic or not.

Tsonga and Granollers (granola bars hahahaha) are still on serve. I hope Gasquet kicks Nadal's ass tomorrow (or whenever). Much as I like Wawrinka, I highly doubt he has what it takes to beat Nadal. Gasquet annoys me too actually, though I don't know why, and I wanted Fish to win last night but Gasquet eventually won. Also, his single-handed backhand is nowhere as gorgeous as Roger's. Then again, whose is, right? I know.

Fuck I hate my paper.

***

ETA 6.54 p.m.:

OMG I almost died. Tsonga just saved two break points. Deuce now, and he better hold!

OMG noooo one game point lost. Back to deuce. SHIT!!! Don't get broken dammit! OMG ADVANTAGE SPANISH GUY.

NOOOO! I was just about to type a sentence in my intro about how formal police-to-police arrangements are inadequate (allegedly anyway) until TSONGA GETS BROKEN! Oh my god I'm so sad! Spanish Guy serves for the match. :( Do not want! :(

Guess what else I do not want? I don't want to write guidelines about how the police can breach the fucking law to arrest people. Bloody hell, in the first place I don't even think that police officers should run around kidnapping suspects just to have them deported to jurisdictions in which they are wanted, and I'm supposed to write guidelines helping police officers to do so? How absolutely annoying.

Oh my god, there's hope! 0-30 on Spanish Guy's serve! Crap, I need to close the live scores window, but I can't, I can't! 15-30 - there's still some chance, however slim! Why is a Spaniard named Marcel? Isn't that a French name? The only Spanish tennis player...no, make that the only two Spanish tennis players that I think are hot are Carlos Moya (mmmmm yummy) and Juan Carlos Ferrero.

OMG TSONGA HAS A BREAK POINT. YESSS HE BROKE!!!!!! He broke back omg omg omg WHY IS THIS MATCH NOT SHOWN ON TV. Star Sports, you FAIL. FAIL FAIL FAIL.

Tsonga HAS to advance! My paper also has to advance! I'm going to close the window after he wins! But wait, got Djoker later. HOWWW. Shit this is terrible.

***

7.13 p.m.:

I swear. I'm going to kill Starhub. Was downloading from Megaupload, reached 75%, and my Internet died. Fuck Starhub to high heavens.

Tsonga's leading the tie-break 2-1. But tie-breaks are unpredictable, and so I'm scared. Boo.

***

ETA 7.21 p.m.:

YESSS HE WON! Now Roger has to do his part and beat Stepanek so that I can watch my current dream match-up! Yay!

***

ETA 8.31 p.m.:

My introduction has absolutely no life. The good thing - only good thing - about my take-home exam answer, at least to the first question, is that I sounded convincing, as if I knew what I was talking about, when I didn't know what the hell I was talking about and therefore wasn't actually convinced of what I was talking about.

The Interpol introduction? It shows, clearly, that I don't know what I'm talking about at all. And every word that I type I feel like I'm squeezing it out painfully from my fingertips. I really hate this. Really. Hate this.

On another note, I laughed out loud when I saw what's on the cover of National Geographic this month - the Neanderthals. I showed it to my brother, and instantly he said, "Dirk Nowitzki!" (I can't believe I spelled his name right.) We're so on the same page on this one.

***

ETA 11.04 p.m.:

Fucking can't take this shit. Can't. I can't.

500 words. 3500 to go. I want to freaking die.

This is, quite honestly, the worst paper ever. If it's an argumentative paper, maybe I'd have something to say; but it's not. And I've never been one to sympathise with the fucking executive.

Fuck.

***

ETA: 11.14 p.m.:

What the hell, Nole? Why did you have to go lose the first set?

Well, I guess the bright side is, if he loses now, he'll fall further behind Roger for the ATP race. But then, Roger doesn't care if he's #2 or #3 or #4; as long as he's not #1, it's all the same to him.

And I actually like Djokovic so what the hell! And it's not showing what the hell!

***

ETA 11.18 p.m.:

OKAY. MY VCR ISN'T WORKING.

That decides it then. I'm watching the match later. Roger, please do your fan a favour and finish off Stepanek in straight easy sets. I'm thinking...6-0, 6-0. Not only will I get to sleep early, the double bagel will definitely send a message to all your detractors. Win/win, y/y?

Fuck this shit. I'm buying a DVD recorder on Friday after I submit my paper.

And since I have an actual reason to hurry write the paper, I'm gonna go hurry write it now. Talk about Motivation! If only I'd discovered my malfunctioning VCR earlier! (Got sound, no image. Yeah how to watch tennis when there's no image?)

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010