Murray def. Federer 3-6, 6-3, 7-5
written: 9:37 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 18, 2008

Roger lost the match.

I've never seen him lose before.

I don't know what happened in that second set, but...it happened. He worked so hard to save all those break points, coming back from 0-40 to hold serve, but eventually got broken at the most crucial point, and he couldn't break Murray.

He lost. I can't believe it. I can't believe it.

I'm so depressed right now I think I might actually cry.

ARGH. Why Roger, why? My heart was literally pounding for the rest of the match from the point when Roger got broken, hoping so hard for him to break back, telling myself that he's Roger Federer and can do anything, that he's only lost 4 matches in which he won the first set (actually, I don't even know how true this is, or where I got the information from), I literally felt sick, and was hoping so damn hard for him to get it back and win...but I should've known from the very moment he opened the match with a double fault.

He did play some brilliant shots, but he also made a shocking number of unforced errors. Not to mention - his first serve went completely haywire in the second and third sets, while Murray's serve was on fire. Murray won a whopping 100% of his first serve points in the second set - how the hell could Roger have fought against that?

Still, I was really, really impressed with the way he came back from 0-40 to hold serve. It was just amazing, and unlike a similar situation in the US Open final, he didn't hold because Murray failed to challenge a Federer shot that was long; he held because he fought for it. That was amazing to watch even though my heart almost stopped.

He just faced way too many breaks points here; at some point, it had to break. He wasn't serving as well as he did in his previous matches, especially the last two, and Murray was on fire. Murray played much better here than he did in the US Open final.

On the bright side, at least Roger won the more important one.

On the bright side, at least I don't have to watch Nadal and sit through his gruntings and ass-tuggings.

I'm really disappointed and even a bit heartbroken. I don't take to defeats very well, and like I said, I've never seen him lose before. I was really hoping he'd win this tournament and make it four this year (three titles in a year is pathetic for Federer standard) and add some points to his ATP rankings, but I guess it was not to be. He couldn't do enough, plain and simple, but at least he went down in style. I knew that even if he'd lost, I'd still come here and rave about him holding serve from 0-40. It wasn't his best tennis, though he did give it what he could, and 44 unforced errors simply weren't going to win him the match. Not to mention - Murray played damn well. I just wish it'd been Roger's best, too. I mean, 44 unforced errors, 29 winners. He made twice the number of unforced errors in this match than his previous matches, which didn't help his bid to impose his weight on the match at all. For instance, this forehand he fired back long when he was already halfway at the net - he didn't need to put so much in that shot. But he did. And that happened way too many times for him to win, especially not when his opponent was playing as well as Murray did.

Oh well. If Nadal goes through tonight (if? He's going through), I'm rooting for Murray to win tomorrow, though I won't be watching. At least I appreciate Murray's tennis, which is not something I can say for Nadal - at all. It'd be damn sweet for Nadal to lose in Madrid! Though it'd be much better if he loses at the Forehand of Federer, but oh well. Oh well.

(Speaking of that forehand - omfg, 22 unforced errors against 8 winners at one point. No wonder he lost.)

He isn't a machine. He's a human being. To think he made the semi's when he wasn't even sure if he was going to play this tournament. Of course I had much higher hopes, and perhaps I unreasonably expected perfection from someone who embodies brilliance and talent; but he's human. He can't win all the time; 2008 has proven that.

But the year's drawing to a close. 2009 is a new start and I'm sure he's going to work on all the holes in his game that this year has thrown up. And for any suggestions that he's on the decline, I say Bull Fucking Shit. No player on the decline can play as well as he did in this tournament. I know he will be #1 again - because that's simply what he is.

I still love him very much. I will continue to love him even when he's not winning all the time. And despite the loss, he made some really amazing brilliant shots that took my breath away. Have I also mentioned holding serve from 0-40? Who does that, really?

Also, it was nice seeing him sweat. It confirms that he's human! I was starting to have doubts. And he squeezed sweat from his hair which was like the most adorable thing ever? Okay, that's gross, but I found it so amusing.

And for once, I could actually tell that he was frustrated. It was subtle and understated and he didn't yell out loud, but it was there - the shake of the head at missing shots, that deflated air about him, even a bit of panic when he was struggling to catch up. I sooo wish I could scream into my TV and tell him to take it easy, that he's got it, and not to rush things and not to let his frustration get the better of him. SIGH! If only telepathy worked.

I hope he plays Basel anyway, since it's his hometown tournament and he won it last year. Thing is, Basel isn't shown on the 20-something sports channels and I'm not sure if I'm getting the Eurosport version that's showing it. I certainly hope so! I'd love to see Roger rejuvenated and winning again after this shocking and devastating loss. Okay, it's only shocking and devastating to me; for all I know, he's already over it. After all, it's almost an hour since he lost, and it's not like this is the first time he's ever lost, obviously.

OH WELL! Okay, I didn't cry, which is good. If this had been the US Open, I might be bawling my eyes out right now, but it's just Masters Madrid. It's a tournament, but not a Slam, so I guess I'm okay.

Yeah, as if it's all about me.

I love Roger, now and forever. <3

***

ETA 12.28 a.m.:

Dear Fans

I feel a lot better physically and after the last few matches in Madrid, I feel very good and I have decided to play in Basel next week. It is always special to compete in my home town as it is one of the few weeks during the year that I can spend playing and enjoying the company of my family and friends all at the same time. Meeting old friends and indulging in the past is something I adore - and obviously Basel is the ultimate place for me to do so. And it is, of course, an absolute treat to be playing in front of the Swiss fans.

The tournament in Basel is definitely one of the highlights of the season for me. I am really looking forward to returning and being able to defend my title.

See you soon
Roger

YAY!!! His loss? Erased from memory. ERASED!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010