The end of Paris.
written: 2:03 a.m. on Saturday, Nov. 01, 2008

I passed up clubbing tonight to come home to watch Roger in the quarter-final, just to find out, after Nadal retired from his match with Davydenko following a 1-6 loss and after I gloated about it, that Roger has withdrawn from the tournament due to a stiff back.

Oh my godddddd. It was pretty ironic how, a few minutes before the commentator explained why I saw Blake's name in the semi-final draw when the match hadn't even started, I was just telling my mom that, in his entire career spanning over 700 matches, Roger Federer has never retired from a match. Even when he sprained his ankle mid-match in the 2005 Masters Cup he continued playing, and post-match he said, "Roger Federer never retires. Otherwise he just doesn't step on the court."

I guess this is an instance of him not stepping on the court. Sigh, poor Roger. This totally explains why he sleepwalked through the Cilic match and why he looked tired and unenthusiastic signing that camera lens. He's usually quite upbeat and his smile clearly genuine; yesterday his smile looked force, he looked tired, and even during the match he looked tired. It's amazing he still won.

I was really hoping he'd end the year with a Masters Series title, and he would've had a really good chance too; Murray lost to Nalbandian, Nadal retired from his match, and Djokovic didn't even reach the quarter-final. But hey, eyes on the Big Picture! Same reason why withdrawing from Stockholm was a good decision.

I hope he gets well in time for Shanghai! If he doesn't, I hope he doesn't play at all! Even though he's defending champion. Oh well!

*

There's more I want to say actually but I'm damn tired and my brain isn't functioning anymore so I'll save it for later.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010