Singapore, Our Great, Amazing Nation.
written: 8:09 p.m. on Sunday, Aug. 09, 2009

Something is wrong with Twitter. It's not letting me post my new tweet. I'm upset.

In any case, I'd like to say this:

WHAT THE FUCK. NDP is a trending topic. WHAT. THE. FUCK.

Watched bits and pieces of the parade. Thoughts:

1. Totally had the lulz during the retarded terrorism segment. If there was really a bomb somewhere and the bomb squad guy strolled to the site like the parade bomb guy, by the time he gets there the bomb would've gone off. And the thumbs up at the end...and the Channel News Later breaking news thing...L. O. L.

2. The woman who sang I Will Survive positively terrified me. Hence, I didn't stick around long enough to fully evaluate what I'm sure I'd call the stupidity inherent in using a song about a woman moving on after a break up and drawing parallels from it to the recent economic downturn.

2(a). Using Western pop songs in itself is questionable. Using Western pop songs in a performance that is supposed to celebrate this country - nation, if you wanna call it that - is actually unintentionally spot-on, and succinctly reflects the internal conflicts that have plagued this country since independence. I've talked about this before, but in brief: On the one hand, we want the economic success of the West (loosely-termed; too lazy to be more precise. For the record, I think the West/East dichotomy is false and total bullshit) and the accompanying institutions, but on the other hand, we don't want their normative values, nevermind that these values are inherent in their institutions. You just can't have it both ways. You simply can't pick and choose. Using Western pop songs, quite simply, mirrors our tendency to worship the West without knowing what we're worshipping, and when it comes to things that we SHOULD worship they get pushed to the background for all sorts of dubious, dishonest reasons.

2(b). I'd hazard a guess that we don't have enough Singaporean songs, but the truth is, I wouldn't know. And if Chloe has anything to say about it, she'd vehemently disagree with me.

3. "I am in the West! I am in Jurong!" "Are you standing next to a factory?" What the fuck, what year are we in, 1966?

4. The girl in the pink shirt with the ugly bangs actually said "nowSadays". Enough said.

That's all I have to say. That's all I can say because I didn't watch anything else. And it's time to watch Singapore Idol! Hope it makes me laugh harder than the terrorism segment did.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010