Waffles with maple syrup.
written: 9:31 p.m. on Sunday, Apr. 25, 2010

Totally bought myself a ticket to see Stereophonics this Friday! At first I was undecided as to whether to go or not but I remembered that when I went to their first gig here, I didn't know half their songs; but now, I know ALL their songs! (Okay except certain songs on the Just Enough Education to Perform CD cos that album is weird.) Therefore, I totally must go!

I'd like to drag the boyfriend along but 1) my bank account is bleeding out like there's no tomorrow; and 2) he could tolerate Backstreet Boys because it was indoors, with air-conditioning, and there were seats; I think asking him to tolerate Stereophonics might be a bit too much. It's outdoors, there are no seats, he might just die. I wouldn't want him to feel uncomfortable just because my friends don't listen to Stereophonics.

Ah well, guess I'll see how.

*

We watched Kick-Ass last night. He thought it was awesome. I thought it was okay. I didn't read any reviews in detail so I didn't know what the story was about and the movie didn't make it clear. It kind of meandered around the protagonist and superhero ambitions rather aimlessly and didn't introduce the central conflict of the movie until about a third into the movie, by which time I was thinking, "Uh, what the fuck is going on? What's this movie about?"

The last third was good though. Wasn't crazy about the explicit violence, but I expected that when I saw that the movie is M18. There was too little of Nicolas Cage and wow, totally didn't know the bad guy and the protagonist are British until I read Time magazine.

Yeah, I have nothing much to say. It was a very typical American movie. It was mostly entertaining. I don't get the grand subtext that Time and New York Times wrote about, but I've never thought highly of comic book adaptations anyway, or just comics, period.

I was the only one laughing at the Lost reference though. How sad, right? I think it's damn tragic 'cause I thought the joke was hilarious. I can't remember the context but some character whined, "How am I going to find out what happened on Lost?"

On another note, I don't know what to make of the fact that the force of the objection to Chloe Mortez playing Hit Girl isn't so much that she kills a lot of people, but that she utters expletives like "fuck" and "cunt" in the movie. Swearing isn't good for an 11-year-old, but I don't see how it's worse than killing people.

But above all else, people should chill the fuck out. It's just a movie. If you object to a kid saying "cunt", don't watch the damn thing. That is all.

*

I am so fat. I need to stop eating desserts. I ate waffles with maple syrup by myself yesterday and I really should've let Wei Chuen order one and stolen some from him. I'm two kilos over my ideal weight and I feel like my life is over.

Speaking of my life being over, I'm gonna miss tennis soooo much. I played better yesterday than I did on Tuesday night but...I don't know.

I don't know. I don't really feel like writing this entry.

*

The most awesome thing I've heard all week was Wei Chuen telling me that he began to eat waffles with maple syrup after we got together. He used to think it was lame but I always eat waffles with maple syrup and it's caught on. I was a bit surprised considering I don't usually eat waffles, let alone with him, and when I do I'm usually at Gelare and he hates Gelare (he hates many things that I like), and I can't remember when we had waffles together before last night, so the fact that he remembered and my preferred type of waffles registered in his head and he remembered - meant a lot to me.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010