dreams are bad when all they do is leave the truth behind
written: 6:48 p.m. on Tuesday, Jul. 23, 2002

A dream last night left me with a bad aftertaste in my mouth. I dreamt of Gen. Supposed to be a good thing, but it wasn't. He worked in some bookstore and I was there, and I went to see him, and he looked terrible. The dark circles under his eyes became reddish bruises that looked like dried blood. His face was void of colour, his lips of lustre. He looked weak, and spent, and fragile, but I didn't ask him why. I didn't ask him anything. I just said, "Hi!" But he didn't smile. He looked at me blankly, and he told me he wasn't sure if he should see me anymore. The reason he cited was that my friends were against the relationship, and that it was getting on his nerves. I started to argue, but did not have time to say all that I wanted to, for somebody I knew called out to me and said, "Yelen, your mother is here!"

So I picked up my bag and hurriedly left him with a "I'll call you tonight". And when I reached home it was past 11. Mom was still awake, but no one else seemed to be home. I wanted to call. But I didn't.

And then I woke up.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010