the first step
written: 11:24 p.m. on Sunday, Dec. 15, 2002

I went shopping with the folks and bought an awesome skirt at Mango. The label is from Spain (and you all know I like Spanish men) and my skirt is totally Spanish, completed with great motifs and flamenco-like swirly stuff at the hems. I love it. It's not something I'd wear, but I felt a need to reinvent myself, so I told my mother that I want it and she forked out the seventy-three dollars. Bless her.

I enjoy watching the flamenco, even before I started liking most things Spanish. I just love the way the women's skirts flare around their legs. And their movements are bold and flashy, and it's great being a spectator because you know you can never be like them, and so you're content with just watching.

I was close to tears today when I watched "Edward Scissorhands". That scene when Edward arrived home from the police station and ran into Kim? When Kim asked Ed why he still agreed to rob her boyfriend's house when he knew the truth? And Ed said, 'Because you asked me to.'? I did guess the exact words but still, I wanted to cry. I don't know why, exactly. There's just something sweet about the way he'd do anything for the girl, even though she initially thought him a freak.

And I stood in the rain while my parents were buying lunch. I crawled out of the car, slammed the car door shut and just walked around the car park, enjoying the feeling of rain water against my skin. People hustled by with umbrellas and they stared, but to hell with stupid people who don't know how to mind their own freaking business. I never really cared what anyone thought anyway.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010