this has become some sort of a trademark
written: 6:07 p.m. on Sunday, Aug. 17, 2003

One funny thing about review sites and the people who request for reviews is how the sites ask for "secret passwords" and bullshit like that and how the reviewees flaunt their utter linguistic brilliance by stringing those "secret passwords" into some silly inane and downright ludicrous sentence that is supposed to reflect wit and intelligence but they only make me laugh.

Another thing that makes me laugh when I frequent such sites and the request pages is how some people say self-deprecating things like, "Please review me, I think I'm worthy of you", or "I think your insightful comments can help me improve my shoddy diary."

Really stupid things. First of all, most of the time review sites don't help you jack shit in improving your diary. And more often than not, you're not looking for help when you review; you just want some stupid American 15-year-old female to heap praises on your diary with some half-hearted, 3-sentence comment like, "Wow, I can so totally relate to you! OMG! Your diary like so rocks! I love you!" when it probably sucks and nobody actually reads the blasted thing.

Second of all, I sincerely believe that one shouldn't request for a review if one honestly thinks that one's diary sucks. I mean, what's the fucking point? You request to flaunt your beautiful masterpiece, not to let some full-of-it bitch call you a bitch for writing about your boring love life.

And when I start writing about something as stupid as reviews and review sites, you instantly know that I have absolutely nothing to talk about.

And I request because I am an exhibitionist, because I think I am a total genius, and because I like it when people praise my writing. And people praise my writing a lot.

And I don't see why I should be apologetic for being arrogant.

I am arrogant and I don't deny it. I think I'm cleverer than most of the people at my school (and I probably really am) and that's the main reason why I refuse to drop Econs even though it's doing my head in. People are telling me, "Drop Econs lah, you can't do it so take for what?"

Who says I can't do it? I can. My crazy, temperametal tutor says I have the potential to excel in the stupid subject and I agree with her. I'm only performing like shit because I don't have the mood to listen during lectures.

Like that is even my fault. Who can help it if my school's lecture theatres look like caves and they make me want to not listen? And I didn't ask the school admin to put Econs lectures before Chinese. Can you blame me if I use Econs lectures to catch up on my Chinese homework sometimes? Of course not.

Interesting. I sincerely don't know how I got from writing about review sites to ranting about Econs.

And I just discovered that I can input Chinese characters in here without using Hans Vision.

The wonders of the computer.

Right now, I love technology.

**

I wasn't going to mention this but I just thought I would.

Remember how I mentioned a while back that The New Kid writes Chinese poetry?

Well, he does. He wrote me something on Friday. He stuffed it in this photo album that I brought to school and I didn't know about it until I got home at night.

I read it, and it made me cry.

Of course there were phrases he used that I don't understand as my Chinese is pathetic but it's just really beautiful. His language, the emotions behind it, and more importantly, it's an affirmation to what I've kind of gathered the past few weeks...

He really, really cares about me.

And I think the few tears that I shed after reading the poem is an indication that whatever he feels for me is more or less reciprocated.

And I don't even know what I did to deserve him.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010