infatuation and the joy luck club
written: 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2004

So about "The Joy Luck Club". Well-intended cultural issues aside, it was more melodrama than drama, more fiction than reality. It was entertaining but there were a lot of moments when I cringed at the obvious over-acting. And I got damn sick of the way the camera slow-mos and focuses on the actress's face whenever one of them goes off into a reverie and recounts her past. It became awfully predictable, and some of the dialogue was predictable too. And speaking of dialogue... like, do people talk like that?! I understand that the film was adapted from a great literary work, but still, they could've made it more realistic.

Okay, I've ran out of things to say about the movie so let's move on.

Seriously though, I think the quality of my entries have been plummeting since I don't know when, and half the time I find it difficult to write a nice, proper entry that is worth reading and well-written. I'm so uninspired nowadays that it's truly a wonder that I even managed to complete the Commonwealth Essay Competition essay.

Speaking of which, I showed it to my teacher and she said that she liked my 'stream of consciousness' style (frankly, I don't know what the fuck that means) that reminded her of Virginia Woolf, Alice Walker and Toni Morrison, if memory serves. I know Virginia Woolf but not the other two. Who are they?

And if you guys care to recall, I currently have the hots for a teacher, and he's so elegant and eloquent and sophisticated that he reminds me of a piece of art, or at least a feather. So let's call him Feather. Easier to refer to him, and yes, I will be referring to him a lot, as I am obsessive like that. Bwahahahahahaha.

People keep saying that he's gay, for some reason or other, but that's quite ironic as... well, I was going to write that he's totally gorgeous but I thought to myself, "Gay men are usually damn good-looking what."

(That was Singlish, if the 'what' at the end didn't seem to collocate with the rest of the sentence. Just ignore it if you don't get it.)

So my point is, he's quite high profile and I've been going around telling people that I think he's damn cute, and this afternoon while sitting outside the staffroom with my teacher, going through my presentation for next Saturday's History seminar of which I am scared to death, this man walked in my direction and out of habit, I glanced at him and when I saw that fuckingly amazingly gorgeous face, I just kinda went, mentally, "AHHHHHHHH!" Instant reaction was a quick smile to the lips, concealed even more quickly, and dammit, I couldn't look at him for long because I had to act interested in what my demented History teacher was telling me.

Man, it's so fun having a crush again and Feather majored in LITERATURE! How smart is that! And he sounds like such an entertaining GP tutor, unlike the old hag that I'm stuck with.

Life is truly unfair.

Gotta get off the computer so that I can do the damn History essay.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010