law interview.
written: 2:43 p.m. on Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005

I wanted to write yesterday but I had such a fun time posting at the American Idol message board that I never got round to doing it. Right now I'm suffering a mild but certainly annoying headache due to the absolutely monstrous Singaporean SHIT weather (I even have the fucking air-con switched on) so be prepared for this entry to be badly-written.

Okay, The Point now. Law interview yesterday. I didn't kick ass but I don't think I died either. I was so fuck-lucky to get two very nice interviewers who talked to me as though I were a friend (or something close to that), not a potential Law student. The mood was very relaxed and I barely had time to register that I was supposed to freak out but wasn't when the thing ended. And it was funny: I wished that it could've gone on a little bit longer.

Still, having said that, I messed up on a few questions, a thing I realised only when I got home. I contradicted myself in some parts; for instance, they asked me about legalising marijuana in Britain and I was like, "Yeah, I'm for the legalisation of marijuana in Britain because it's easier to control the problem if it's made legal. But of course, the government should implement regulations to make sure that it doesn't get out of hand."

Then Male Interviewer asked, "Do you think there's too much regulations and law in Singapore?" (Something along those lines; I can't remember his exact phrasing.)

I brilliantly said, "Yes, definitely." And didn't elaborate. Wasn't that totally contradictory to the thing I said before that, about Britain putting in place laws or whatever to regulate marijuana usage? Fuck, right? And also, I think I was supposed to argue my stand on certain issues when the Male Interviewer kind of countered it but on more than one occasion, I was simply like, "Yeah, I agree with that actually."

I might be pretty fucked, I think. But hey, on the bright side, they were really nice and it felt more like an intellectual conversation I'd have with an acquaintance than an interview...which is both good and bad actually. Good, because it didn't allow me to freak out during the thing itself; bad, because I am cynical and hence I can't help but wonder if there was a knife hidden somewhere behind their smiles and laughter yesterday.

I bloody hell hope not. I did some Jurong Junior bashing when Male Interviewer asked me about elitism in Singapore, to which I basically answered that I felt it was justified to a certain extent because I encountered little to no competition in Jurong Junior, and hence we should group all the smart people together so that we can become even smarter and not have to deal with stupid people, blah blah blah. Not exactly the most politically-correct thing to say about your alma mater, but to hell with Jurong Junior; I've had enough of its ineptitude.

Anyway, they didn't ask me why I want to read Law at NUS, thankfully. Male Interviewer got the ball rolling when he asked me why I wanted to study Law and Econs...you know, the double honours programme. I was really impressed by the fluency of his thoughts though, and how articulate he was in expressing them. Hell, I really hope that I'd make it; I don't mind being a student of really smart people. Before I left Male Interviewer said, "I hope you get what you want." Wasn't that nice? I think it was.

The two interviewers were British too, which I wasn't aware of since they were both Chinese and so I assumed they were Singaporeans. Imagine my horror when I went off about how I hated Singapore's preference for foreign talent and how this kind of marginalises the locals and hell, the Esplanade was designed by a British! Fortunately they told me that they weren't offended by it before it ended.

Okay, this entry was even more badly-written than I thought it'd be and I have to take the written test later on at 4.30. Great. What an opportune time for my English to totally suck. Hopefully the test won't be something that totally baffles and befuddles me.

I'm sooo sleepy.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010