flag day and friendship day. (how lame.)
written: 8:53 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 02, 2005

I'm sticky, tired, and my blisters are killing me. Today's Flag Day was largely a failure on the donation-collecting front; for the making-new-friends aspect, however, I think it was a blast. I reached Bishan at the ungodly and totally ridiculous hour of 8-freaking-15 a-bloody-m, went to some food centre, sat down, listened to my MP3 player (I would've gone nuts without it since I didn't have any reading material with me, let alone pen and paper), drank milk tea and messaged Clarence, Angela and Tingren, not necessarily in that order. I walked past truckloads of NUS people along the way and it was weird. I walked back to Bishan MRT, walked past the same people, and it was even weirder. I reached Bishan MRT, I wanted to pee, so I turned back and walked to Junction 8, and simultaneously walked past those few NUS people again - tres weird.

Located 2 OG mates and then started talking to this girl Melissa. Oh my god, I have another friend called Melissa! My Melly Welly will always have the number one spot in my heart though, needless to even mention. The dude OGL hadn't arrived with the tin cans and stickers and other funky crap along those lines, so we headed to McDonalds' where we sat and rapped, and it was fun. Talked lengthily to this dude who sat in front of me; he looks so much like my cousin, the one who taught me Maths last year, the one training to be a pilot in Australia right now. I think it's largely due to the fact that he's super tanned and tall, and that his voice is super deep too, just like the cuz. In the end I ended up attempting to get donations from mostly-unwilling members of the public with Melissa and the dude.

At around 12 noon the sky literally changed colour. One second, it was all hot and humid, and the next, it was almost frigid. We were walking towards Bishan ITE, there was a wide, open field in between the ITE and Junction 8, and the sky was so clear, the unobstructed view of approaching storm clouds just took my breath away. It was the most beautiful sight ever, the way Junction 8 and other miscellaneous buildings were shrouded in that thick blanket of Black, almost as though they weren't significant at all, not in the presence of something so much greater than themselves.

To quote Merrill Hess (Joaquin Phoenix <3) from Signs, "It's like War of the Worlds." And then a strong wind began blowing my way, and I was wearing my short denim skirt and wahoo, free show for all!

Ugh it was horrible. Felt so dumb trying to keep the fucking skirt down. Damn, denim is not supposed to fly so easily!

We took shelter at Bishan ITE. Yeah, it was funny. Discussed Law school and its possibilities, JC stuff, the usual, and throw in some bitchings into the mix and you'd get the best conversation I've had with people whom I've just met this year.

Okay, maybe it wasn't the best, but it was good, for sure. We reached the conclusion that pro-orientation people have a completely different mindset, one that anti-orientation people like us can never relate to. So imagine the potential irony that could've been if I'd said that I OGL-ed last year! Hahaha.

I think I was on crack, seriously, the OGL shit. It sucked anyway so whatever.

I had three two-dollar notes; yay me. Two of them were given to me by these two middle-aged men. Haha. I must've charmed them with my winning smile and stunning dimples.

Cue sound of sick girl retching (me), then toilet flushing (me). What's wrong with me today? I'm utterly incoherent. I must be still-intoxicated by that pretty sight I saw this afternoon. The rain was magnificent too - a huge downpour, and we were stuck at Bishan ITE, which means Good Freaking Excuse Not To Do Flag Day. Ha.

A few people approached me with coins, which surprised me. One taxi driver beeped his horn at me (somehow that sounded super perverted; Yelen, get your brains outta the gutter!) and gave me a dollar. So cool eh?

I wasn't really bothered with it lah, to be honest. I don't even know why I went too. And I'm going for tomorrow's pseudo-Mardi Gras thingy. We're supposed to set up some weird-ass game stall thing, come up with like a one-minute skit, appoint a mascot and get the guest of honour (member of the teaching staff) to play the Highly Original and Creative and FUN! Game and decide a winning OG. And the catch? The all-important, life-or-death catch? The bloody winning OG gets to raid the second-hand book sale first.

OMG my OG so fucking has to win! I need books, I need like three or four more books! I need books or else my life is over!

Okay will cut the bad attempt at melodrama. But seriously, I don't know what to say about this obviously-manipulative way of getting us to take part in the quasi-Mardi Gras thing...except that it's freaking manipulative! And unfair! I'm 90% sure that my OG's not gonna win as that's an almost-fact by default (ie. due to my unenthusiastic presence) so we'd probably get like, 4th or something, so by the time we get into the book sale all the good stuff would be gone. Yuuuuck.

Confession: The only reason I'm going is because we had this huge discussion today about what we're gonna do tomorrow and I was involved in the discussion and so I'd feel bad if I didn't go. It really, really, REALLY sucks having a conscience. I wish I could be like, "Who the fuck remotely cares about this dumb shit?" and totally screw the thing, go to Jurong Point in the day and change my shirt, but because I am plagued with that irritating thing called Conscience, I decided to go eventually and so I'd be going to Jurong Point after the whole event in the evening.

Oh well, I think the preparation would be fun (provided I don't have to do anything potentially-humiliating) since I know a few people so...yay! I'm gonna wear my Jurong Junior shirt, purely because it is totally disposable and because I don't want to dirty my own shirts. I Love Jurong Junior!

My tin can was half-full today. Not bad for a slacker like me. And hey, THREE TWO-DOLLAR NOTES! Try beating that suckers! (The third one was given by this grandma who gave her grandkid the note after the grandkid pestered the grandma for money.)

I gotta go take a shower now so that I can call Clarence early and sleep early 'cause I'm super tired. Ah I miss Clarence. I realised that I didn't mention him at all in yesterday's entry - actually, I did, but I deleted it 'cause I didn't want to embarrass him. (If you're reading this, ask me if you wanna know what I wrote! No guarantee that I'd tell you though; haha!) Oh and this is so dumb, but I know his timetable better than him! His own timetable, for crying out loud. Amazing. We were talking about when to see each other and I was like, Thursday? I don't wanna go Beach Bash. And he was like, Uh am I free on Thursday? (Or something blur along those lines!) And I said, Yeah you have this huge break from 10.30 to 4.30!

He should hire me as his personal assistant. My memory is so fantastic. Hopefully it'd serve me well in Law school.

The dude OGL was telling us about Law school over lunch and it sounds scary as hell.

Shall not elaborate in case I get nightmares.

Hittin' the showers now.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010