the wowness of vague remote connections.
written: 7:16 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2005

I just found out, like, today that the CEO of Neopets is Jason Dohring's father.

For the horribly uninitiated (why are you reading this if you need me to clarify who JD is?!), Jason Dohring is about the best actor on TV right now. He plays LOGAN ECHOLLS on Veronica Mars, which is of course, the best show ever. And needless to say, I am in love with Logan and we're total soulmates.

So anyway I was kind of flipping out over that fact (JD's dad, CEO of Neopets) because everyone I knew in secondary school went through a Neopets craze for a bit, my brother included. I, being the anti-establishment misanthrope that I am, was never sucked into the craze and honestly I found it all terribly silly, but nevertheless! To think that the actor who plays my favourite TV character of all time has some sort of a vague link to my past! Like, oh my god, Logan and I are totally meant to be!

Right so I'm sounding like a total idiot - which is definitely intentional, needless to even mention - but whatever.

It's dinnertime. I may be back for an edit to make myself sound less bimbotic and retarded in this entry.

I love Logan and now I love Jason too. Why is Jason married? Life is wholly unfair. He's only, like, four years older than me too! Sigh.

**

Edited to add:

I just watched Episode 9 of The O.C. Season 3 and apparently Summer "Bimbo" Roberts scored a 2300 on the SATs.

That's 2300 out of 2400. I don't know whether to laugh - how can someone who didn't know who Kofi Annan is almost get a perfect score? - or to feel relieved...because if someone as ditzy as Summer Roberts can score a 2300 it means the test is really easy which means I can, like, totally get a perfect score when I take the freaking thing in January next year.

Whatever, O-freaking-C. For the record, if it were Logan Echolls to score a 2300 I doubt I'd believe it too. If it were Veronica Mars, I wouldn't believe that she didn't get full marks.

The only part of the episode that got me mildly interested was when Summer and Seth met with the admission dude from Brown who said that they take in one student from Harbour (the private school the OC characters go to). They asked him what would make a student stand out, the Brown guy goes, "Blah blah blah a hook", they asked him to elaborate, and the Brown guy started to elaborate and I caught something about a marching band and to my absolute chagrin the episode cut to the next scene and I don't even remember what the hell it was, or care to know.

This hook thing - I hate the terminology, by the way, and I think I spelled that wrong - is getting on my nerves. I have like zero hooks. Being valedictorian without graduating at the top of your class doesn't really count for much, my CCAs suck major ass, I'm pretty sure the Math section of the SATs will kill me, basically I've done NOTHING even vaguely impressive in junior college and I haven't written a single word of that Yale optional essay (which is, of course, freaking topic-less which means I have to write about why I wanna get out of NUS Law and besides saying something stupid like, "Because I hate it there", I can't think of anything else to say), and to be honest I totally regret deciding to apply because I totally CANNOT write a halfway decent essay to save my arse anymore and god, why is the deadline December 31, why is it approaching so steadily, WHY CAN'T I WRITE SOMETHING?

This week? Should be over right now. Let me wake up in the morning to a stress-free day, in which my essays are magically written to immaculate perfection and awe-worthiness, my stupid application sent, and my College Day thing mercifully over. I've never tried to pretend that things weren't real as much as I'm pretending now. Like, College Day? Not real until it's 12 midnight on Friday, don't wanna think about it, stop talking to me about it Mom!

The fact that I'm writing this instead of forcing myself to write the opening word of my essay is also saying a lot about the pretending and the "one of those not real things", yadayada, I always shamefully rip off Veronica Mars, it makes me feel witty when I use their lines and since most people don't watch the show they think I'm witty which, like, totally vindicates me.

Okay I'm not making sense. I was gonna write about this hot, possibly Western country-born Chinese guy I saw at Chinatown who was walking around with a camera that Veronica would so totally use - assuming it's not the same model, which of course I wouldn't know - and how he was just totally hot but I shall resist the urge to portray myself as an even bigger bimbo than I've already done in this entry.

By the way, I didn't think he was Singaporean because he kinda bumped into me and said "sorry" and the way he said that word, with the right stress on the right syllabuses (or whatever) and all, totally un-Singaporean, made me think that. I mean Singaporeans would typically go, "Sor-RI", but he was like, "SOR-ry."

I hope that made sense.

I really have to write a few lines about how great Y@le is and how it's always been my dream to go there yadayada so I'm gonna go now.

You know, if I hadn't already paid a hundred dollars to take the SATs, I wouldn't be applying anymore.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010